• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

onboard graphics?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mastrgamr

Registered
Joined
Oct 19, 2009
Location
New York, NY
what does it mean to have onboard graphics for a motherboard? im thinking about getting THIS.. from what it sound like, i won't have to buy a graphics card but im not sure, im pretty new to building computers.
 

4GHZ_or_bust

Now 6GHz or Bust!
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Location
Michigan
onboard graphic means what it sound like, has onboard video. GeForce 8300 has VGA, DVI, and HDMI. From what I can find, it uses shared memory so if you use em, you'll lose a portion of installed memory.
 

J-O_S-H

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
England, United Kingdom
The majority of motherboards on the market have onboards graphics. This is needed for non-gaming users to be able to display the OS graphics... they can handle small games included with the operating system but are too underpowered to handle any game worth mentioning.

Whether or not you buy a graphics card depends on your needs.

If you want to play mainstream games such as call of duty, farcry 2, crysis etc then you will need a dedicated graphics card.

But if you are only going to surf the web etc then the onboard will suffice.

What exactly are you hoping to do?
What is your budget for this build?
 
OP
Mastrgamr

Mastrgamr

Registered
Joined
Oct 19, 2009
Location
New York, NY
im trying to look for the right gaming build for me, hopefully keep the budget 600-900ish usd for the whole system... i definatley want 512mb graphics since i think thats that standard for minimum requirements for game now.

so i guess onboard graphics is out lol
 

jgv115

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Location
Australia
Alright, for any gaming you need a discrete card. Integrated cards are normally for people that don't know what a graphics card is. There are also more powerful integrated cards for HTPC peeps!!!

Now what type of games do you play and at what resolution? I suggest 1gb of video RAM because 512mb won't be good at high resolutions!
 

Theocnoob

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Location
Near Toronto Canada
im trying to look for the right gaming build for me, hopefully keep the budget 600-900ish usd for the whole system... i definatley want 512mb graphics since i think thats that standard for minimum requirements for game now.

so i guess onboard graphics is out lol

What games do you play? a 1GB 4870 is cheap now
 

curtis1552

Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Location
Dayton, Ohio
I'd say go for it. It's got the higher end northbridge, runs two of the PCIe as 16x and (at 3 the second two drop to 8x) and all the other MSI have integrated graphics. Though you might bge able to save a bit of cash if you got with one of the MOBO's with a lower end northbridge. (they were running about 70-100)
 
OP
Mastrgamr

Mastrgamr

Registered
Joined
Oct 19, 2009
Location
New York, NY
i play MMORPGs mostly. I havent seen any cheap 1gb cards (then again i dont really know what cheap is for graphics) i think they all go for $150+, maybe ATi cards are cheaper than nVidia, I havent looked at ATi i always went for nVidia

Now what type of games do you play and at what resolution? I suggest 1gb of video RAM because 512mb won't be good at high resolutions!
the highest resolution i had on any pc is 1280 x 800, i guess i want to go one step higher in widescreen resolution, if that makes any sense lol
 
OP
Mastrgamr

Mastrgamr

Registered
Joined
Oct 19, 2009
Location
New York, NY
I'd say go for it. It's got the higher end northbridge, runs two of the PCIe as 16x and (at 3 the second two drop to 8x) and all the other MSI have integrated graphics. Though you might bge able to save a bit of cash if you got with one of the MOBO's with a lower end northbridge. (they were running about 70-100)

:bang headi dont really know any differences with high and low end bridges, or what they are :screwy:
 

jgv115

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Location
Australia
Does higher end northbridges really matter? Most northbridges will allow you X16 X16 X8 anyway. All that matters is the South Bridge...
 

CompuTamer

Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Location
Brandon Mississippi
Does higher end northbridges really matter? Most northbridges will allow you X16 X16 X8 anyway. All that matters is the South Bridge...

If he wants to over clock any, he'll probably want to get a board with a good north bridge... if not... there's really no difference.
 

Theocnoob

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Location
Near Toronto Canada
Does higher end northbridges really matter? Most northbridges will allow you X16 X16 X8 anyway. All that matters is the South Bridge...

Higher end almost everything matters. It's the additional controllers and stuff like that which can add price and you may or may not need, ie, SAS, additional SATA controllers, additional PCIE controllers.
 

Neuromancer

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Location
Tau'ri
If he wants to over clock any, he'll probably want to get a board with a good north bridge... if not... there's really no difference.

He is running AMD not socket 775. As such it is the southbridge that is more important.

NB or Chipset is 790X 790GX (onboard GFX) and 790FX.

Any of the 3 has good and bad models for overclocking :) Some of the top spots on the bot are held by 790GX setups.

Personally I would not go with an nVidia built 790GX setup for AM3, as the AMD IGPs are very strong. I built a ITX system system for my sister based on HD3200, that games rather well for some older or cheaper games. Was actually very surprised how well actually after coming from so many crap Intel IGPs. Only had one nVidia AM2+ motherboard with IGP and was not overly impressed with it. Of course it has its own dedicated memory, that could be the big difference.