• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OOOPS! I broke something!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sam

Registered
Joined
Jun 19, 2001
Location
winnipeg, canada
On my video card I broke off two of those little rectagular things on the PCB beside the RAM chips. What will happen if I try to boot with this card on my mobo?
 

spanx

Registered
Joined
Jul 27, 2001
sam (Jul 31, 2001 03:07 p.m.):
On my video card I broke off two of those little rectagular things on the PCB beside the RAM chips. What will happen if I try to boot with this card on my mobo?

DO NOT even think of trying it, the last person i know that did that fried the mobo, vcard, cpu all in one boot.

Sorry, but they are the most important part of the card, besides the gpu.
 
OP
S

sam

Registered
Joined
Jun 19, 2001
Location
winnipeg, canada
I tried it and it works fine.... lol..... however i did get an error about some sort of "ram" and something about a "Ram BIOS"......

it works... but not stable!
 

It_The_Cow

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Indiana
sam (Aug 01, 2001 02:06 a.m.):
I tried it and it works fine

it works... but not stable!
Oxymoron, eh? It was probably a bit dangerous to fire it up, but hey, it would have given you an excuse to upgrade, right
 

Bobby Manus

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Southern California
Eil Atan (Aug 01, 2001 02:16 a.m.):
hehehe... works, but not stable... sounds like most of my computer adventures! ???

Me breaking my mobo last friday is cuasing me to upgrade from a 933mhz p3 to a new 1.3ghz amd ddr rig :-D Gunna send me about 350$ in the whole though after the mobo/processer/ddr/ 50$ hs/f!! since when are these things 50$?! LOL my alpha pal 6035 was like 30$ and top of the line at the time! Hey whats going on here ! :D