• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Ordering New PC Tonight, please look over components

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

eskimochaos

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Location
ALASKA
Been a while since I have been on here as I have been in college and out of the loop. Im building this for my younger brother. He wants to run COD MW2 on max settings at 1680x1050 resolution.

Budget around $1600.

Here is my shopping cart at Newegg, please let me know if there is anything else I should get or something different.

CPU:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115214

MOBO:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188046

Vid Card:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130475

RAM:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227365

HDD:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148433

PSU:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151031

Case:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811112144

Anything else?

Thanks in advance!
 

Daddyjaxx

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2005
Location
Ormond Beach, FL.
Definitely wrong motherboard.

The 5850 would be the way to go...it competes with the 285, but hard to find.

Wrong RAM kind of. The I7 860 only does dual channel, so you need the same RAM but in 4 GB, not 6.

Lian Li's are nice, overpriced, and the cooling on them is not the best. The Corsair Obsidian is a kick butt case for 50.00 more. For what you can save on the RAM and PSU...there's your 50 bucs.

I'd go with a WD 1 GB black for the drive. It's like 10.00 more.

Cheaper, good quality PSU's out there. Look at the 750 TX by Corsair. For your setup, the 89.00 550TX would be fine.

If you want that RAM and motherboard, you need an I7 920. It's 133 MHz slower, but it runs triple channel memory, and is 1.00 cheaper. The X58 is enthusiast and will run the 6 core CPU's in the future where the next "upgrade" to 1156 motherboards will probably be dual core 32nm CPU's. P55 (1156) I7 will be better for one video card, but have limited upgrade paths. X58 (1366) is a little better with dual video cards and have a better upgrade path. Choose one.
 
Last edited:

Springbok

Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
I just built a similar system based around the 860 & 5850, and I run COD at max everything at 1920x1200. I got the Asus Sabertooth motherboard with Mushkin blackline 1600 RAM (see full list in signature).

That Seasonic is a good PSU but I'd also vote for a Corsair, they're just fantastic.
 

deed

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Last edited:
OP
eskimochaos

eskimochaos

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Location
ALASKA
So what I gather is that everything I have will work with this CPU:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115202

What about OS, I was planning on getting Win 7 Professional 64bit.

Any rec on DVD-ROM? Blu-Ray is not necessary. You sold me on the Obsidian, I was looking for a sleek aluminum case and thats it. Does it come with the 3 140mm fans?

Thanks guys.....overall do you think this is a solid setup? I do not plan on overclocking.
 
Last edited:

GT3mich

Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Location
Birmingham,Michigan
So what I gather is that everything I have will work with this CPU:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115202

What about OS, I was planning on getting Win 7 Professional 64bit.

Any rec on DVD-ROM? Blu-Ray is not necessary.
You live in New Jersy so go to your local MicroCenter and save some money.
http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0302727
While your there pick up one of these.
http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0293049
 

Daddyjaxx

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2005
Location
Ormond Beach, FL.
Unless you need XP mode and stupid corporate networking stuff... Vista Premium 64 bit is good enough. Whatever you choose, it needs to be 64 bit for the 6 GB memory.

Yes, everything you list will work with that CPU. As a matter of fact, look down...you are building MY PC....kind of. :)
 
OP
eskimochaos

eskimochaos

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Location
ALASKA
Unless you need XP mode and stupid corporate networking stuff... Vista Premium 64 bit is good enough. Whatever you choose, it needs to be 64 bit for the 6 GB memory.

Yes, everything you list will work with that CPU. As a matter of fact, look down...you are building MY PC....kind of. :)


Yea, decided to go with the gtx 285, you like your setup? Im going W7 then.
 
OP
eskimochaos

eskimochaos

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Location
ALASKA
OK decided to go with Corsair Obsidian, GTX 260 in SLI, Corsair 850TX PSU, and corsair H50 CPU cooler. Everything else the same as before.
 

Daddyjaxx

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2005
Location
Ormond Beach, FL.
If you are going Nvidia and you want SLI and can spring it, 275's would be better. 2x275 >295.

You may also want to shop elsewhere for a good air cooler like the Thermalright TRUE or Prolimatch Megahalem. Jab-Tech.com would be one place to start or Petra-s Tech Shop, Performance PC's, Frozen CPU, Sidewinder Computers. That water cooler is equal to air and it can leak or the pump can fail. It is watercooling after all. Air can never leak. THose air coolers are just as good and will cost a little less even with the fans.
 

sdavis2702

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Location
Fort Sill, OK (FOB Hammer, Iraq)
That's really close to what I am planning for my first build. I'm going with your original CPU choice in the i7-860 though. I've never built before but after lots of research, I've pretty much picked out the same things you have listed here. Glad to know I'm somewhat on track.
 
OP
eskimochaos

eskimochaos

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Location
ALASKA
OK ordered everything but the i920 which Im going to pickup from MicroCenter for $90 cheaper.

I decided to go with the H50 as it is clean and neat IMO. The motherboard has a digital readout of the temperature so it will be an easy glance for my brother if the H50 does take a dump.

One question,

I have never setup an SLI system. Do I plug both the cards in and attach the bridge initially? Will Win 7 recognize the SLI config or do I start with one and add it?

Thanks!
 

Daddyjaxx

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2005
Location
Ormond Beach, FL.
You install the cards with the bridge. Install the drivers. Go into Nvidia control panel and enable SLI.

BTW...that readout is garbage. Mine says 21 which is the ambient temps. It does not read the cores. I'm not sure if it is reading the CPU or motherrboard temps, because both of mine say 21.
 
OP
eskimochaos

eskimochaos

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Location
ALASKA
You install the cards with the bridge. Install the drivers. Go into Nvidia control panel and enable SLI.

BTW...that readout is garbage. Mine says 21 which is the ambient temps. It does not read the cores. I'm not sure if it is reading the CPU or motherrboard temps, because both of mine say 21.

Thanks for the input. I watched a bunch of vids on the Obsidian case and the wire management is unreal. I look forward to making this VERY clean!