• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

outervision needs our help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TuKr

Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2015
Location
StL
Hey everybody. I contacted outervision in regards to their PSU calculator because i thought it had inaccuracy whenever a GPU overclock was applied. Turns out that it had a few bugs that i was able to bring to his attention. I mentioned that i may be able to have a few friends also run their systems against the calculator for accuracy after the bug is corrected.

So for error correction and testing would everybody be so kind to configure their system setup here http://outervision.com/power-supply-calculator and just post a reply on this thread with the permalink and a description of their hardware installed. Be sure to describe any discrepancy or possible error.
I will be moving this link onto him as it populates. He has also noted that we (the benching as a whole) will get some kind of mention for helping out. credit where credit is due.

Thanks every body, He said that the fix is in place and wants to ensure its accuracy.
 

Johan45

Benching Team Leader Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
I don't have a watt meter to check or I would
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Wow did that thing get complicated (for the sake of being more accurate).

I will put up some results on the test rig when I get home.

I am curious what changed and how you found out/isolated the difference though!
 
OP
TuKr

TuKr

Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2015
Location
StL
I don't have a watt meter to check or I would

Not needed. He just wants to make sure that the system and settings work with at or under your rated power supply.

- - - Updated - - -

Wow did that thing get complicated (for the sake of being more accurate).

I will put up some results on the test rig when I get home.

I am curious what changed and how you found out/isolated the difference though!

I noticed that when i applied my gpu overclock, that did not require any voltage adjustment, the wattage on the power supply sky rocketed. Somewhere along the lines of 1100 was calculated and my 860 handled it with no problem. I explained how i thought the gpu was bugged and linked a some hw subs to him for probable cause and he found a few bugs.
 

satrow

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Location
Cymru
http://outervision.com/b/IMwbOC

Stock, Vcore and GPU clocks are taken from HWiNFO64 during ROTTR, the 2x 5,400 SATA drives are actually 2.5" and the RAM is DDR3L @ 1.25v (or 1.28, can't recall). 450W XFX Bronze PSU (I would use my SeaSonic 360 Gold but it only has a 6-pin connector).

My watt meter also has an LED lamp and a 24" IPS monitor connected to it, total ~20W, the most I've seen it draw is ~275W during benching.



If I can find some free time later in the week, I'll crank things up a little and post again.
 

Johan45

Benching Team Leader Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Well I discovered a couple of short comings, well for the Extreme overclocker any way. The GFX core slider stops at 1500 MHz. Just out of curiosity I wanted to see if it could guess how much power I use under LN2. It said 680 w http://outervision.com/b/rxRKdt
According to Vince the 980Ti will pull huge amounts of power when heavily OCd. Check the graphs part way down the page https://www.kingpincooling.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3820

Tried a second one with the FX9370 at 6800 and 1.8v said 1100+W. Maybe that was my problem when benching at higher speeds. I was only using a 1K PSU http://outervision.com/b/y9Whaz
 
Last edited:

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Not sure the calcs are made for the extreme overclocker though...?
 
Last edited:

Johan45

Benching Team Leader Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
OK, I did something a bit more realistic that I have done on my loop for monthly comps. FX9370 at 5.5GHz with 2x GTX 580s at 950MHz. This is at least close but I never did trip my 1k Superflower 1157W http://outervision.com/b/WohFJE
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!

MaddMutt

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Here's a link for my Folding Server, when I get it back online http://outervision.com/b/61aNsR.

For Server operation that uses the GPU's and not the CPU, he needs to have a 3%-8% usage for the CPU. I can run my Folding & Home Server off the power supply it recommended. Both running full blast only pulls 1300w.
 

eXtremeOV

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2016
Hello from the eXtreme Outer Vision!

First of all a big thanks to TuKr for identifying GPU overcklock bug! It has been fixed.

We just released an update to the power supply calculator with new functionality that I believe you will like: GPU Core overvoltage. Feel free to test drive it and report your findings!


Regards,
eXtremeOV
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
I still think it keeps in mind crap psus (it has to).

I would run your system on a quality 650w psu with everything overclocked (assuming stock gpu bios and custom water) without a worry in the world...
 
Last edited:

Kenrou

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Let's hope so, little clarification from the website's owner/team would also be lovely :)
 

Johan45

Benching Team Leader Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
I still think it keeps in mind crap psus (it has to).

I would run your system on a quality 650w psu with everything overclocked (assuming stock gpu bios and custom water) without a worry in the world...

Manny was tripping his doing the Marathon runs with a FX8350/ GTX 580 and he had a 620 IIRC