• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclock Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

masitti

Member
Joined
May 16, 2002
Location
Colorado
Man, for some reason, my system won't go past 1.6 GHz. It seems to freeze at around 160 FSB, with BSOD's into Windows. I've run it at 1.85 Vcore, and still no go. I definitely know it isn't the chip.

Any tips to help me chug along? Specs are in sig.
 

]-[itman

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2001
Location
Arizona
What are your temps for your system. It could also be your memory, PC2100 is not gaurenteed to run even at the FSB you are running right now.
 

]-[itman

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2001
Location
Arizona
It's probably your memory then, but it could be another component holding you back. Take out everything you can and still have it run(memory, cpu, video card, and hdd to boot windows are all needed) and see if it will work. It appears, though, that the memory is that problem, so, if that doesn't work, I would suggest getting a hold of some faster memory. You could also take out all your memory save one stick, and try all the different sticks you have to see if a single one will work.
 
OP
masitti

masitti

Member
Joined
May 16, 2002
Location
Colorado
]-[itman said:
It's probably your memory then, but it could be another component holding you back. Take out everything you can and still have it run(memory, cpu, video card, and hdd to boot windows are all needed) and see if it will work. It appears, though, that the memory is that problem, so, if that doesn't work, I would suggest getting a hold of some faster memory. You could also take out all your memory save one stick, and try all the different sticks you have to see if a single one will work.

Ok, I will do that - I am running it at 150 FSB now, and letting it fold for about 20 minutes, then bumping up a few Mhz on the FSB.

Thanks for the advice, will try it - any thing else that needs to be added feel free. ;)
 

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
its the memory as stated above. might try just one stick see if that helps,relax the timings,unlock it and use a higher multiplier.

not many options when memory is a brickwall.
 

rogerdugans

Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me...
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Location
Corner of No and Where
PC2100 is definitely not rated for high speeds- but with some it is possible: Micron-chipped generic seems to do better than most, but it NEEDS higher than default voltage to do it.

It's what I use:D

More ram voltage, if possible- a fan blowing directly on the ram is a good idea too;)

Also the point about multiple sticks is a VERY good one:if the sticks don't run almost EXACTLY the same you will be likely to have problems at high fsb- one at a time try them out; you may also get better results in one ram slot than others...or more accurately, WORSE results in one slot than the other two: on my 8kha+ mobos I do NOT use the center slot.
 
OP
masitti

masitti

Member
Joined
May 16, 2002
Location
Colorado
Ok, so it'd be better to have 2 sticks of the same exact thing than to have different ones?

If I can get a decent overclock, I may just run on 256 MB for awhile then.
 

]-[itman

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2001
Location
Arizona
Crucial makes excellent RAM, but you have one of their lower speed models is that problem, one that's not rated for that high of FSB speeds. As stated, upping the RAM voltage(if possible) will usually help push higher FSB and relaxing the timings will too. 1 stick of a high density memory is the best way to go, but not always possible, in which case you need to get the RAM as close as you can.