• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclock HP ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ApolloSpeed

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2001
ok guys.....first i wanna know if my HP computer ould be good for overcloaking?

I got an HP Pavilion AMD Athlon 900Mhz
128 Memory
Nvidia 32mb Riva Video Card
57 Gig HD

Is this system pretty flezable for overclocking? How would i determine which #pin memory cards to use? Or what is will fit what and WORK !

thanks,
ApolloSpeed
ApolloSpeed Zone
 

OpenFriday

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2001
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
what motherboard is it running on, dont get too excited OEM pc's dont overclock well at all. Refer to Tips and Techniques on front page beginers guides should help you out.
 

sims

Registered
Joined
Jan 19, 2001
Location
Colorado, USA
Check HP's web site for details of the MoBo. I had a HP 400Mhz and there were no jumpers on the board to adjust and I couldn't get into the BIOS. Should be able to find the info from their details page about your machine

Good luck.
 
OP
A

ApolloSpeed

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2001
ok guys,

the motherboard is Pangea-U .

that is all i could find on the HP motherboard !

thanks,
ApolloSpeed
 

Slake

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Location
Knoxville,Tn
ApolloSpeed (Mar 25, 2001 11:56 a.m.):
ok guys,

the motherboard is Pangea-U .

that is all i could find on the HP motherboard !

thanks,
ApolloSpeed
Hey guy. I also have a HP system. Mine's only a P2 350. I wonder if that "Pangea-U" is a codename given to a board that was custom made for HP by a major manufacturer. The HP folks called my board a "Leopard". My reasearch uncovered that it is an Asus P2B-98 XV. OEMS get the boards customized. In my case they put their own BIOS chip which will not acceot a non-HP update, removed the AGP slot and added a crappy on-board video chip. If you browse the customer support forums and search the newsgroups, you may be able to pinpoint the specs for the board. You could also inspect the board for markings. I think between the PCI slots is a common location for markings. Oh, you could try SISOFT Sandra
From browsing HP's web site I believe you have the 9780c. This is a link to some info about the board including jumper settings. But not manufacturer name.
Users Forum is here for the 9700 series http://pawnt152.external.hp.com/ser...&root=142&lang=En&country=US&t=forum/index_pl
This is a quote from one of the HP techs to someone asking about a mobo for a pavilion 9720 (T-bird 900)
"The motherboard in your system is an OEM version of the ASUS mother with the Apollo KT133 chipset. The motherboard does support the AGP 4X standard. For me to tell you the exact place in the BIOS to change the settings I would have to know what version of the BIOS you have on your system."
Hope my rambling on helps some. You know of course you will void your warranty (most likely) if you OC it. You probably will want to get a new BIOS EPROM (from manufacturer) chip if you are gonna go for it.
You might want to try a software solution to avoid warranty issues. SOFTFSB can overclock without opening the case. http://www.tweakfiles.com/processor/softfsb.html
Good luck,
 

Slake

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Location
Knoxville,Tn
n2 (Mar 25, 2001 06:06 p.m.):
mad props for the sweet post Slake....
nice job!!!

Thanks n2. I know what a headache it was for me when I first started looking for specific info at HP's site a few years ago. No sense in letting you suffer needlessly. I am debating whether it is worth it to get a new BIOS chip for my HP 6370z. Not guaranteed to work and I would probably have to buy a new power supply too.