• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

overclock problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

craigts

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2004
I'm having problems OCing my barton 2500

background info:
Abit AN7
barton 2500 with AS5 and thermaltake extreme volcano 12
1 GB kingston CL2.5 memory

I can't get this guy to stably OC past 1933 mhz.

The problem may be heat? 42C idle, 45C load @ default 1833mhz

Any suggestions are appreciated.
 

wquiles

Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2003
Location
Dallas, Texas
Heat-wise you are still OK. You would have problems with heat as you approach 60C. At 45C load you are not really "hot" yet :)

You might need to raise your Vcore (votage to the CPU) in order to go past default speeds. What is your current Vcore setting (usually controlled with the BIOS)?
 
OP
C

craigts

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2004
I'm using the default 1.65v vcore. I already tried pusing it to 1.75v and it remained unstable. I couldn't even get small increments higher.
 

Aseaver

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Location
Dayton
Try upping the memory voltage in Bios a little. I may not be the Vcore voltage but the memory volts. But you Vcore at 1.7 mimimum since heat isn't a major issue yet.
 
OP
C

craigts

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2004
After increasing memory voltage from 2.65 to 2.7, it wasn't stable even at the factory FSB. :( ???
 
OP
C

craigts

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2004
Tried those settings, even with lower FSB, and still wouldn't work (wouldn't even display to monitor even). Thought maybe PSU was inadequate so I disconnected non-vital components but still no display even. The computer gods hate me!
 

The Coolest

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
What is your power supply rating and brand and what are your +5v and +12v voltage lines showing when under full load by Prime95?
 
OP
C

craigts

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2004
I've got an Enermax 300W.

Right now after pulling up prime95 torture test my +5 and +12 are 5.14 and 12.16 (fluctuates to 12.22 and 12.12, 12.6 - it seems erratic). vcore also reads higher, 1.67 from 1.65.

Then again, +5, and +12 aren't ever steady. They flail around a lot.
 
OP
C

craigts

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2004
Update - using default settings (no OC at all) prime95 only ran for 6 minutes on the high memory torture test. Then failed again after 2 min. I was watching voltage as it ran and it started leaping as high as 12.33.
Not familar with this - are high V just as bad as low?

Why would V be too high in the first place?
 
Last edited:
OP
C

craigts

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2004
:( :mad:

OK. I decided to check my memory since prime was only failing tests that involved heavy memory usage. When both memory sticks are in place I get tons of errors from memtest86, but the individual sticks test out ok! What the hell?

Is it possible that having both sticks is taxing my PSU too much, therefore causing the errors, and only putting in one stick is ok?

I really don't want to return any hardware.
 

The Coolest

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
I've heard that some motherboards don't like certain RAM so this could be one of those cases...