• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

overclock q9550 need advices

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

wami

hi all, I'm a newbie in overclocking. This is my first time overclock my CPU soo excited about it..I need some expert's advices before I go too crazy:D I overclocked my q9550 to 3.4ghz and ran stress test by using occt for two hours without an error. My max temp is 50 degree C. Is it ok for me to push it up a little bit more? Also do I need to test with prime95 for 24h to make sure my system is stable?
my spec:
Asus P5Q pro
750W Cosair PSU
Corsair 4G of DDR2-6400 @ 800Mhz
Vcc= 1.11875 V
CPU PLL=1.54 V
FSB termination= 1.20 V
Dram= 1.94 V
NB brigde= 1.2 V
SB brigde= 1.1 V

Last edited:
You can push your chip a lot harder. 45nm are pretty durable, well at least compared to 32nm counterparts. And 50C max temp is a great max temp. Do us a favor, though... Run Prime95 for a while and give us temps that way. The Tcase Intel lists on their side for the C2Q Q9550 is 71.4C... So it looks like you've got room to play with.

What cooler do you have?
What is your vCore? THat is the only one you have no listed...
What are you using to monitor temps? Use RealTemp or CoreTemp if you aren't already.

As for running Prime95, 24hours is not necessary by my standard. Everyone is different. I run LinX for 2 hours and Prime95 for 12 hours (both must have no errors during tests) to deem them completely stable.
That board is a hell of a board and can push S775 chips pretty hard. I've had one myself and loved it.

Keep pushing :thup:

Last edited:
thanks bennocolus, I will let it run with prime95 for 12h from now then I will post the temp. Anyway, I use corsair H50 for my cooler, my Vcore=1.11875 V, during the test i used RealTemp.