• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking 8370

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jaxapollo

Hello! I just installed a water cooler and was wondering what the ideal voltage and OC would be for my rig. Right now I'm at 4.3 but I'm new at this so I don't want to mess it up..

Specs:
AMD FX-8370
GeForce 980
msi 970a-g45
corsair h80i
650W PSU.

I ran 95 and passed .. These are the screens.
3IzMu4q.jpg.png
WQll2qr.jpg.png
UVosnuq.jpg.png
hBQAbd1.jpg.png

Thanks in advance for all of the assistance. I am excited to be a part of this community.

No one can answer your questions as such because every CPU will be different, even from the same model. Variations in the quality of the silicon used for a particular production run plus variations in the manufacturing process are responsible for that. All CPUs (or at least samples from every production batch) are tested at factory and as long as the variations in them are within a certain envelope they will be sold as a certain model. If they fall outside of that envelope they will be sold as a different model. This is called "binning." So there is going to be variation between individual CPUs even when being sold as a certain model like your FX-8370.

But then as far as overclocking goes there are other variables outside the silcon it self. Like: 1. Motherboard quality (are the power producing components on the board weak or strong?) and cooling capacity. The amount and speed of RAM also influence this equation as does the "cleanness" of the power being supplied to the motherboard by the PSU.