• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking 9900k on z390 Aorus Master

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Asryan

Registered
Joined
Aug 3, 2017
Hi,

I'm always trying to tweak stuff and get better results and temps and so I have a few questions


High vcore / Low LLC or Low Vcore High LLC?
I'm running at 1.24 with turbo LLC but I was advised to rise the vcore to lower LLC. During my test though, i have no overshoot with turbo.

ntel speed shift in bios
Does it has a big impact on temps, even at idle ? can this settings when enabled, can mess up an oc or a stress test? I have it enabled for nopw


max performance plan in windows
Same question :) i am on normal performance right now


C-state
Same question :) it's disabled for me now

Fixed vcore or adaptive one?
I tried to set up a adaptive vcore but the results are not perfect for now, need more testing.
Tried different level of LLC, different offset but best I had was one hour stable on small occt before a WHEA error in HWINFO...

Aorus Master F11C bios.
I read some complains about this bios, should I roll back?

Cinebenchs
Does cinebench (both of it) need to run in real life process? I would like to be able to compare my results to others and i wanna be on the same page :)


VT-D
Does that settings has any impact on the OC, temps or stability?

I guess that's all that comes in my mind right now, thanks for your answers !
 
Last edited:

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Merged threads. Havong multiple threads on the same subject only serves to confuse everyone involved. :)

1. On llc, you were advised to figure out how you want it to look...IF you had droop you can change it if you choose.

2. If it is enabled amd you are stable, leave it. This is a choice, for you.

3. Your choice on performance plan...do you want clocks up all the time or want it to drop?

4. Your chooce on cstates...do you want the clu to drop when idle? See #3 as well.

5. We already went over fixed versus adaptive in another threas... your choice...

6. Are YOU having trouble with the bios? Doesn't seem so... leave it alone. That said, if you aren't on the latest, why not flash it? You don't have to if things are working..

7. Cinebench... no idea what you are asking here.... run it and compare the scores.

8. If we look up what VT-D is, you'll see it has to do with running VM's and absolutely nothing to do with voltages.
 
Last edited:
OP
Asryan

Asryan

Registered
Joined
Aug 3, 2017
It's on 9900k not 8086k...it's a different cpu so not the same thread

 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
my bad... saw the duplicate thread, again, at tpu...lol.

Please see my answers above. :)
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
5 ghz is the stock max turbo speed for this CPU. Your thread title suggests you are overclocking. Are you running all the cores simultaneously at 5 ghz or something? Between the mergerd threads and the two threads still existing in this sectin of the forum (the other one asking about stress testing) this is getting confusing.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Trouble is, AVX instructions are finding their way into a lot of modern apps.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Non avx.. good to know. In the other thread I said 93C was ok but assumed that was with avx.

93C is pretty warm for non avx occt.
 
OP
Asryan

Asryan

Registered
Joined
Aug 3, 2017
Damn so what should I do? I'm very annoyed with that. But my temps are OK while gaming

What could be the issue?

Bios settings?
Cooling? I have a H150i pro in h500m case
Ambiant are 26c



Or it's not really an issue since normal usage temps are ok?


 
Last edited:

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Remove the water block, clean the two surfaces with isopropyl alcohol, repaste and reseat the water block. Maybe it's not making good contact.
 
OP
Asryan

Asryan

Registered
Joined
Aug 3, 2017
I'm sure 100% its not the issue, I've installed it like 2 weeks ago and used kryonaut.

 
OP
Asryan

Asryan

Registered
Joined
Aug 3, 2017
But I don't understand, the chip is good stable at relatively low vcore but getting hot on stress tests.

During gaming in played 2h yesterday online modern warfare for instance, max cpu package was 70 but average temp 59 which is all fine right?

I read that llc turbo could make temps higher and rising vcore while lowering llc could give me better load temps?

 
Last edited:

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Are you certain the H150i pro is working properly? Maybe there is an air bubble blockage in the system or if it is several years old, algae buildup.
 
OP
Asryan

Asryan

Registered
Joined
Aug 3, 2017
If the aio pump had issue, i suppose my temps would be very bad too during gaming no? But it's not the case.

I Was actually considering changing my AIO too.

I'm currently hesitating between

Eisbaer Extreme and Arctic Liquid Freezer II, the last one has insanely good reviews
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
If the aio pump had issue, i suppose my temps would be very bad too during gaming no? But it's not the case.
No.

Gaming is a much lighter load than stress testing so of course temperatures will be less there. That doesn't mean they still are too high. The average temperature is 100% IRRELEVANT. You just want to see peak temperatures in stress testing or gaming.

Before you go and spend money changing the cooler. As others have said already, clean off the thermal paste and apply new/remount the block and see if that helps. Seeing that the AIO just came out 2 years ago, I doubt internal build up is the problem... but there isn't any good way to tell in the first place.
 
OP
Asryan

Asryan

Registered
Joined
Aug 3, 2017
I did that twice or three times in the last month with different cpus and my temps were never that great on stress test so...

My temps in gaming are too high you think? 60c avearage?

And if i had to choose one AIO which one would you get between those two?
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
I did that twice or three times in the last month with different cpus and my temps were never that great on stress test so...

My temps in gaming are too high you think? 60c avearage?

And if i had to choose one AIO which one would you get between those two?
Different CPUs have NOTHING to do with this one. It could be a bad mount or bad thermal paste application on THIS CPU.

Again, average temperatures MEAN NOTHING. Peak temperatures are what matters.

I won't pick between those two as, right now, we aren't sure what the issue is. So instead of going down that road, let's take the time to properly troubleshoot...

EDIT: I see you went ahead and created another thread asking that question.................:-/
 
Last edited: