• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 to 1866 or 2133??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Nechen

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
So I've been messing around with my current rig and realized I've never overclocked RAM beyond the JEDEC specifications (DDR2 was 800, DDR3 is 1600, etc...)

Anyway I've tried the following to NO avail whatsoever:

-Disabled XMP and set Performance Enhance to STANDARD for stability.
-Increased DRAM Voltage to 1.65 (It boots just fine @ 1.65v, as long as I leave it at 1600Mhz)
-Manually set the timings to a few different suggestions I found online... 9-10-9-27/11-11-11-31/etc...
-Tried leaving the settings at AUTO
-Tried leaving the DRAM Voltage at AUTO
-Changed BLCK to 101 and tried 102 (again, it would POST just fine as long as the freq. was set to 1600 but 1866/2133 would crash)

At this point I don't know what else to try...I know there's never "cookie cutter" settings that you can just use and get the OC stable but I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction.

And this my RAM:
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/vengeance-8gb-dual-channel-ddr3-memory-kit-cmz8gx3m2a1600c9
 

Lochekey

Senior Pink Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2015
Is this for the system in your sig? If so are you running 2 of these kits to get your 16gb capacity?
 

Lochekey

Senior Pink Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2015
Have you tried increasing the system agent voltage. You may need to increase this slightly to compensate for having all 4 dimms populated.

Also if you bought 2 - 2x4gb kits and combined them are they the exact same model and rev level. If not they may not play well together.
 
OP
Nechen

Nechen

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Have you tried increasing the system agent voltage. You may need to increase this slightly to compensate for having all 4 dimms populated.

Also if you bought 2 - 2x4gb kits and combined them are they the exact same model and rev level. If not they may not play well together.

Yeah all 4 are identical, I double checked that before even attempting to OC to 1866/2133.

Silly question but what is System Agent Voltage???
 

Woomack

Benching Team Leader
Joined
Jan 2, 2005
SA = memory controller voltage.
On SB you can't run above 2133 and some kits have problems to run at 2133. Anyway you should be able to set something like 1866 9-10-10/9-11-11/10-11-11 and 2133 9-11-11/10-11-11. Both at 1.65V. All other timings can be at auto.
 
OP
Nechen

Nechen

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
SA = memory controller voltage.
On SB you can't run above 2133 and some kits have problems to run at 2133. Anyway you should be able to set something like 1866 9-10-10/9-11-11/10-11-11 and 2133 9-11-11/10-11-11. Both at 1.65V. All other timings can be at auto.

Hmm so just set the first 3 and leave the rest at auto @ 1.65v -- I'll give it a shot!

Thanks!:thup::thup::thup::thup: