• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking CPU

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gonchi1207

Registered
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Hi, i want to overclock my q6700... i use scythe mugen 2 as cooler for the cpu and usign prime 95 at full load, temps wont go above 48 ºc.

i want to overclock it 4 gaming...

i tried myself increasing the fsb from the default 266, to 333, as someone of this forum suggested me to do this in another topic, at stock voltage...


i did it, but every time i played for example CSS, counter strike source... i used the command that shows how many fps do i have and the fps increased almost by 75, but whenever i fired the gun ... or threw a HE grenade, the computer freezed 4 a moment, making gameplay impossible....

i tried with cod4 and it was the same story, not at firing, but 4 example when you ran, it slightly freezed ...


i really cannot find a reason 4 this, since, before overclocking it never happened, so it is not requirements issue... and the temps didnt go above 40 ºc in both games ! checked with coretemp... soo i do not know what is the reason for this, maybe it is a common error in overclocking or is something more wierd....


at fsb 333 the temps at full load also wouldnt exceed the 50ºc so this means that further overclocking is possible...


sooo suggest me how to overclock my q6700 and please explain me this strange error..

my rig:

ati 4890
q6700
4 gb ram kingston hyperx ddr2 - 800
gigabyte chipset 45

thx in adv
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Gigabyte makes 15 different P45-based boards, so post your exact model. Also post a direct link to your specific RAM (including whether the 4GB of DDR2-800 is 4 x 1GB or 2 x 2GB), and the VID of your chip (usng Real Temp--> "Settings" page--> Max Core VID). Also post a pic. w/ Memset open showing all of your current DRAM timings, and pic's of CPU-Z open to the CPU , SPD, and Memory tabs.
 
OP
G

gonchi1207

Registered
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Gigabyte makes 15 different P45-based boards, so post your exact model. Also post a direct link to your specific RAM (including whether the 4GB of DDR2-800 is 4 x 1GB or 2 x 2GB), and the VID of your chip (usng Real Temp--> "Settings" page--> Max Core VID). Also post a pic. w/ Memset open showing all of your current DRAM timings, and pic's of CPU-Z open to the CPU , SPD, and Memory tabs.

Motherboard Name Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
2x2gb kingston ddr 2 RAM

2nvvuhy.png.jpg



68477782.png









i noticed my ram is running at 333 mhz, this means that it is 667 ddr2 ram, so either someone sold me a 667 ddr2 while i payed for a 800 ddr2, or it is defaultely underclocked by the bios to maximize compatibility with the FSB, do not know, how can i check in the bios that?
 

scr047

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
i noticed my ram is running at 333 mhz, this means that it is 667 ddr2 ram, so either someone sold me a 667 ddr2 while i payed for a 800 ddr2, or it is defaultely underclocked by the bios to maximize compatibility with the FSB, do not know, how can i check in the bios that?

Note in the image with your ram timings where it says FSB : DRAM = 4:5. It's exactly what it says the ratio between your FSB and Ram which means that your ram will be running at 800 so no you didn't get ripped off.
 

SamSaveMax

Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2008
Why your screenies shown slot 1 empty?
Did you insert them properly as in slot 1 and slot 3?
Your screenies also shown running as SINGLE channel.....
Check your rams spec and adjust accordingly in the bios
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Like scr047 mentioned, the RAM is running at a 4:5 divider (266 MCH strap), for an effective 666MHz DRAM frequency at a FSB of 266MHz. In order to run the RAM at it's rated 800MHz, change the MCH Frequency Latch from AUTO to 266, and the System Memory Multiplier to 3.00A. When you up the FSB to 333MHz, change the MCH Latch from 266 to 333, and the multiplier from 3.00A to 2.40B. And as SamSaveMax mentioned, position the RAM sticks in the two yellow slots for a dual channel configuration. You can see in the pic. of the SPD tab that there is no informaton given for Slot #1... curious as to why you didn't change the slot selection in the drop-down so we could see the SPD info. Regardless, post a direct link to your specific RAM (showing SPD timings and Vdimm at DDR2-800MHz), and not just "2x2gb kingston ddr 2 RAM".
 
OP
G

gonchi1207

Registered
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Like scr047 mentioned, the RAM is running at a 4:5 divider (266 MCH strap), for an effective 666MHz DRAM frequency at a FSB of 266MHz. In order to run the RAM at it's rated 800MHz, change the MCH Frequency Latch from AUTO to 266, and the System Memory Multiplier to 3.00A. When you up the FSB to 333MHz, change the MCH Latch from 266 to 333, and the multiplier from 3.00A to 2.40B. And as SamSaveMax mentioned, position the RAM sticks in the two yellow slots for a dual channel configuration. You can see in the pic. of the SPD tab that there is no informaton given for Slot #1... curious as to why you didn't change the slot selection in the drop-down so we could see the SPD info. Regardless, post a direct link to your specific RAM (showing SPD timings and Vdimm at DDR2-800MHz), and not just "2x2gb kingston ddr 2 RAM".

I am sorry, as i said, i have scythe mugen 2, and it is known that it makes impossible to install a ram in the first slot with this cooler,, so thats why i changed the ram to slot 3 and 4, since i was told that ram works better in slots that are closed to each other, i mean, it is better placing rams in slots 1 and 2, or 3 and 4, than placing them in 1 and 3, or 1 and 4, or 2 and 3, or 2 and 4, that is what i mean....

also you did not tell me what should i do with the cpu, increasing the fsb by 333 but what about the vcore, vdrop etc....

what do you think the error i had when i changed the fsb to 333 was caused for ?

should i put the multiplier to 10x, or leave it to 9x...

i do not know how to find the direct link to my ram......

here are the cpuz spd info
39941527.png
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Since your HSF covers the first DIMM slot, install the sticks to the 2nd and 4th DIMM slots (red DDR2_2 and DDR2_4) for a dual-channel config. According to the SPD pic's you posted, you indeed have DDR2-667MHz, and not DDR2-800MHz RAM. So while you're changing the RAM around, write down the information on the stickers attached to the RAM, then post it in this thread. Although just going by the SPD info., the PN 2G-UDIMM is rated at 5-5-5-15; 333MHz, and 4-4-4-12; 266MHz at 1.8 Vdimm. So just disregard the info I posted above re: running the RAM at DDR2-800MHz. In order to run the RAM at 667MHz while at a FSB of 333MHz, the DRAM ratio needs to be set to 1:1. So set the MCH Latch to 333 and the System Memory Multiplier to 2.00B, for an effective 667MHz DRAM freq. at a FSB of 333MHz.
 
Last edited:
OP
G

gonchi1207

Registered
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Since your HSF covers the first DIMM slot, install the sticks to the 2nd and 4th DIMM slots (red DDR2_2 and DDR2_4) for a dual-channel config. According to the SPD pic's you posted, you indeed have DDR2-667MHz, and not DDR2-800MHz RAM. So while you're changing the RAM around, write down the information on the stickers attached to the RAM, then post it in this thread. Although just going by the SPD info., the PN 2G-UDIMM is rated at 5-5-5-15; 333MHz, and 4-4-4-12; 266MHz at 1.8 Vdimm. So just disregard the info I posted above re: running the RAM at DDR2-800MHz. In order to run the RAM at 667MHz while at a FSB of 333MHz, the DRAM ratio needs to be set to 1:1. So set the MCH Latch to 333 and the System Memory Multiplier to 2.00B, for an effective 667MHz DRAM freq. at a FSB of 333MHz.

the ddr2 label said

KHX6400D2/2G

sooo noww, what should i overclock :D
 

RollingThunder

Destroyer of Trolls & Spammers
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Since your HSF covers the first DIMM slot, install the sticks to the 2nd and 4th DIMM slots (red DDR2_2 and DDR2_4) for a dual-channel config. According to the SPD pic's you posted, you indeed have DDR2-667MHz, and not DDR2-800MHz RAM. So while you're changing the RAM around, write down the information on the stickers attached to the RAM, then post it in this thread. Although just going by the SPD info., the PN 2G-UDIMM is rated at 5-5-5-15; 333MHz, and 4-4-4-12; 266MHz at 1.8 Vdimm. So just disregard the info I posted above re: running the RAM at DDR2-800MHz. In order to run the RAM at 667MHz while at a FSB of 333MHz, the DRAM ratio needs to be set to 1:1. So set the MCH Latch to 333 and the System Memory Multiplier to 2.00B, for an effective 667MHz DRAM freq. at a FSB of 333MHz.

Redduc, gonchi,

Those RAMs also require 2.0v. Gonchi, make sure you have that set in your BIOS: 2.00v or as close as you can. Slightly over is ok.
 

RollingThunder

Destroyer of Trolls & Spammers
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
ok so now what should i do,, increase that, fsb? v core v drop...


Gonchi,

I'll let Redduc guide you, he's one of the best at this, I just wanted to make sure you have your RAM voltage set high enough before you do anything else.
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Since you made no mention of changing the MCH Latch / Strap or Memory Multiplier like scr047 and I suggested, I'll just assume they're still on AUTO. And you also didn't mention whether you moved the one RAM stick from the DDR2_3 DIMM slot to DDR2_2. Regardless, fill out this BIOS template for the GA-EP45-UD3R w/ all of your current settings...

Code:
[b][u]GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R[/u][/b] 
[u][b]MB Intelligent Tweaker(M.I.T.)[/u][/b] 
Robust Graphics Booster ...............:  
CPU Clock Ratio ..........................:  
Fine CPU Clock Ratio.....................:. 
CPU Frequency ...........................: Mhz 
[b][u]Clock Chip Control [/u][/b] 
[b][u]Standard Clock Control[/u][/b] 
CPU Host Clock Control..................: [Enabled] [Disabled] 
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) ............:Mhz 
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz) .........:Mhz 
C.I.A. 2......................................: Disabled 
[b][u]Advanced Clock Control [Press Enter][/u][/b] 
CPU Clock Drive...........................: mv 
PCI Express Clock Drive.................: mv 
CPU Clock Skew (ps)....................: ps 
MCH Clock Skew (ps)...................: ps 
[b][u]DRAM Performance Control[/u][/b][u][/u] 
Performance Enhance...................: [Turbo] 
Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.).....:  
(G)MCH Frequency Latch...............: [Auto] 
System Memory Multiplier ..............: 
Memory Frequency (Mhz) ..............: Mhz 
DRAM Timing Selectable ................: [Manual] 
[b]Standard Timing Control[/b] 
CAS Latency Time..............................:  
tRCD .........................................:  
tRP...........................................:   
tRAS..........................................:   
[b]Advanced Timing Control [Press Enter][/b] 
tRRD...........................................: 
tWTR..........................................: 
tWR............................................: 
tRFC...........................................: 
tRTP...........................................: 
Command Rate (CMD) ....................: 

[b]Channel A[/b] 

[b]Channel A Timings Settings [Press Enter][/b]  
Static tRead Value.........................:Auto 
tRD Phase0 Adjustmen.......................:Auto 
tRD Phase1 Adjustment......................:Auto 
tRD Phase2 Adjustment .....................:Auto 
tRD Phase3 Adjustment......................:Auto 
Trd2rd(Different Rank).....................:Auto  
Twr2wr(Different Rank).....................:Auto  
Twr2rd(Different Rank).....................:Auto  
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank).....................:Auto  
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control...................:Auto  ps 
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control...................:Auto  ps 
DDR Write Training ...........................: Enabled 
[b]Channel A Driving Settings [Press Enter][/b]  
Driving Strength Profile...................:[AUTO],[667Mhz],[800Mhz],[1066Mhz],[OC-1200],[OC-1333] 

Data Driving Pull-Up Level.................:Auto  
Cmd Driving Pull-Up Level..................:Auto  
Ctrl Driving Pull-Up Level.................:Auto  
Clk Driving Pull-Up Level..................:Auto  

Data Driving Pull-Down Level...............:Auto  
Cmd Driving Pull-Down Level................:Auto  
Ctrl Driving Pull-Down Level...............:Auto  
Clk Driving Pull-Down Level................:Auto  
[b]Channel B[/b] 

[b]Channel B Timings Settings [Press Enter][/b]  
Static tRead Value.........................:Auto 
tRD Phase0 Adjustmen.......................:Auto 
tRD Phase1 Adjustment......................:Auto 
tRD Phase2 Adjustment .....................:Auto 
tRD Phase3 Adjustment......................:Auto 
Trd2rd(Different Rank).....................:Auto  
Twr2wr(Different Rank).....................:Auto  
Twr2rd(Different Rank).....................:Auto  
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank).....................:Auto  
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control...................:Auto  ps 
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control...................:Auto  ps 
DDR Write Training .........................: Enabled 
[b]Channel B Driving Settings [Press Enter][/b]  
Driving Strength Profile...................:[AUTO],[667Mhz],[800Mhz],[1066Mhz],[OC-1200],[OC-1333] 

Data Driving Pull-Up Level.................:Auto  
Cmd Driving Pull-Up Level..................:Auto  
Ctrl Driving Pull-Up Level.................:Auto  
Clk Driving Pull-Up Level..................:Auto  

Data Driving Pull-Down Level...............:Auto  
Cmd Driving Pull-Down Level................:Auto  
Ctrl Driving Pull-Down Level...............:Auto  
Clk Driving Pull-Down Level................:Auto  


[b]{U]Motherboard Voltage Control[/b]{/U] 
Voltage Type.………... Normal  
[b]CPU[/b] 
Load Line Calibration......................: [Enabled] [Disabled] 
CPU Vcore..................................:v 
CPU Termination…..... 1.200V*..............:v 
CPU PLL...............1.500V*..............: v 
CPU Reference.........0.755V*..............: v 
[b]MCH/ICH[/b] 
MCH Core..............1.100V...............: v 
MCH Reference.........0.800V...............: v 
MCH/DRAM Ref..........0.900V...............: v 
ICH I/O...............1.550V...............: v 
ICH Core............……1.100V...............: v 
[b]DRAM[/b] 
DRAM Voltage..........1.800V...............: v 
DRAM Termination......0.900V...............: v 
Channel A Reference...0.900V...............: v 
Channel B Reference...0.900V...............: v 
[b]{U]Advanced Settings[b]{U] 
Limit CPUID Max. to 3......................: [Disabled] 
No-Execute Memory Protect..................: [Disabled] 
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E)....................: [Disabled] 
C2/C2E State Support.......................: [Disabled] 
x C4/C4E State Support.....................: [Disabled] 
CPU Thermal Monitor 2(TM2) ................: [Enabled] 
CPU EIST Function..........................: [Disabled] 
Virtualization Technology..................: [Disabled]
 
OP
G

gonchi1207

Registered
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Since you made no mention of changing the MCH Latch / Strap or Memory Multiplier like scr047 and I suggested, I'll just assume they're still on AUTO. And you also didn't mention whether you moved the one RAM stick from the DDR2_3 DIMM slot to DDR2_2. Regardless, fill out this BIOS template for the GA-EP45-UD3R w/ all of your current settings...

Code:
[b][u]GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R[/u][/b] 
[u][b]MB Intelligent Tweaker(M.I.T.)[/u][/b] 
Robust Graphics Booster ...............:  
CPU Clock Ratio ..........................:  
Fine CPU Clock Ratio.....................:. 
CPU Frequency ...........................: Mhz 
[b][u]Clock Chip Control [/u][/b] 
[b][u]Standard Clock Control[/u][/b] 
CPU Host Clock Control..................: [Enabled] [Disabled] 
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) ............:Mhz 
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz) .........:Mhz 
C.I.A. 2......................................: Disabled 
[b][u]Advanced Clock Control [Press Enter][/u][/b] 
CPU Clock Drive...........................: mv 
PCI Express Clock Drive.................: mv 
CPU Clock Skew (ps)....................: ps 
MCH Clock Skew (ps)...................: ps 
[b][u]DRAM Performance Control[/u][/b][u][/u] 
Performance Enhance...................: [Turbo] 
Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.).....:  
(G)MCH Frequency Latch...............: [Auto] 
System Memory Multiplier ..............: 
Memory Frequency (Mhz) ..............: Mhz 
DRAM Timing Selectable ................: [Manual] 
[b]Standard Timing Control[/b] 
CAS Latency Time..............................:  
tRCD .........................................:  
tRP...........................................:   
tRAS..........................................:   
[b]Advanced Timing Control [Press Enter][/b] 
tRRD...........................................: 
tWTR..........................................: 
tWR............................................: 
tRFC...........................................: 
tRTP...........................................: 
Command Rate (CMD) ....................: 

[b]Channel A[/b] 

[b]Channel A Timings Settings [Press Enter][/b]  
Static tRead Value.........................:Auto 
tRD Phase0 Adjustmen.......................:Auto 
tRD Phase1 Adjustment......................:Auto 
tRD Phase2 Adjustment .....................:Auto 
tRD Phase3 Adjustment......................:Auto 
Trd2rd(Different Rank).....................:Auto  
Twr2wr(Different Rank).....................:Auto  
Twr2rd(Different Rank).....................:Auto  
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank).....................:Auto  
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control...................:Auto  ps 
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control...................:Auto  ps 
DDR Write Training ...........................: Enabled 
[b]Channel A Driving Settings [Press Enter][/b]  
Driving Strength Profile...................:[AUTO],[667Mhz],[800Mhz],[1066Mhz],[OC-1200],[OC-1333] 

Data Driving Pull-Up Level.................:Auto  
Cmd Driving Pull-Up Level..................:Auto  
Ctrl Driving Pull-Up Level.................:Auto  
Clk Driving Pull-Up Level..................:Auto  

Data Driving Pull-Down Level...............:Auto  
Cmd Driving Pull-Down Level................:Auto  
Ctrl Driving Pull-Down Level...............:Auto  
Clk Driving Pull-Down Level................:Auto  
[b]Channel B[/b] 

[b]Channel B Timings Settings [Press Enter][/b]  
Static tRead Value.........................:Auto 
tRD Phase0 Adjustmen.......................:Auto 
tRD Phase1 Adjustment......................:Auto 
tRD Phase2 Adjustment .....................:Auto 
tRD Phase3 Adjustment......................:Auto 
Trd2rd(Different Rank).....................:Auto  
Twr2wr(Different Rank).....................:Auto  
Twr2rd(Different Rank).....................:Auto  
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank).....................:Auto  
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control...................:Auto  ps 
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control...................:Auto  ps 
DDR Write Training .........................: Enabled 
[b]Channel B Driving Settings [Press Enter][/b]  
Driving Strength Profile...................:[AUTO],[667Mhz],[800Mhz],[1066Mhz],[OC-1200],[OC-1333] 

Data Driving Pull-Up Level.................:Auto  
Cmd Driving Pull-Up Level..................:Auto  
Ctrl Driving Pull-Up Level.................:Auto  
Clk Driving Pull-Up Level..................:Auto  

Data Driving Pull-Down Level...............:Auto  
Cmd Driving Pull-Down Level................:Auto  
Ctrl Driving Pull-Down Level...............:Auto  
Clk Driving Pull-Down Level................:Auto  


[b]{U]Motherboard Voltage Control[/b]{/U] 
Voltage Type.………... Normal  
[b]CPU[/b] 
Load Line Calibration......................: [Enabled] [Disabled] 
CPU Vcore..................................:v 
CPU Termination…..... 1.200V*..............:v 
CPU PLL...............1.500V*..............: v 
CPU Reference.........0.755V*..............: v 
[b]MCH/ICH[/b] 
MCH Core..............1.100V...............: v 
MCH Reference.........0.800V...............: v 
MCH/DRAM Ref..........0.900V...............: v 
ICH I/O...............1.550V...............: v 
ICH Core............……1.100V...............: v 
[b]DRAM[/b] 
DRAM Voltage..........1.800V...............: v 
DRAM Termination......0.900V...............: v 
Channel A Reference...0.900V...............: v 
Channel B Reference...0.900V...............: v 
[b]{U]Advanced Settings[b]{U] 
Limit CPUID Max. to 3......................: [Disabled] 
No-Execute Memory Protect..................: [Disabled] 
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E)....................: [Disabled] 
C2/C2E State Support.......................: [Disabled] 
x C4/C4E State Support.....................: [Disabled] 
CPU Thermal Monitor 2(TM2) ................: [Enabled] 
CPU EIST Function..........................: [Disabled] 
Virtualization Technology..................: [Disabled]

I did change mem from slot 3 to slot 2, so, now i have mems on slot 2 and 4.


i posted above the mem model as you requested...


here are pics showing my bios settings as you requested







 
Last edited:

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Give these settings a try for 3.6GHz (Vcore, MCH Core, and VTT may need to be adjusted either slightly higher or lower), and make sure to run Memtest86+ before attempting to boot into Windows. Any errors in Memtest means you'll need to make adjustments to the vMCH, timings, or Vcore...

Code:
[b][u]GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R[/u][/b] 
[u][b]MB Intelligent Tweaker(M.I.T.)[/u][/b] 
Robust Graphics Booster ...............: Fast
CPU Clock Ratio ..........................: 9 
Fine CPU Clock Ratio.....................: 0
CPU Frequency ...........................: 3.6Ghz 
[b][u]Clock Chip Control [/u][/b] 
[b][u]Standard Clock Control[/u][/b] 
CPU Host Clock Control..................: Enabled 
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) ............: 401Mhz 
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz) .........: 100Mhz 
C.I.A. 2......................................: Disabled 
[b][u]Advanced Clock Control [Press Enter][/u][/b] 
CPU Clock Drive...........................: 800mv 
PCI Express Clock Drive.................: 900mv 
CPU Clock Skew (ps)....................: 0ps 
MCH Clock Skew (ps)...................: 0ps 
[b][u]DRAM Performance Control[/u][/b] 
Performance Enhance...................: [Standard] 
Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.).....: Disabled 
(G)MCH Frequency Latch...............: [Auto] 
System Memory Multiplier ..............: 2.00D
Memory Frequency (Mhz) ..............: 802Mhz 
DRAM Timing Selectable ................: [Manual] 
[b]Standard Timing Control[/b] 
CAS Latency Time..............................: 5  
tRCD .........................................: 5 
tRP...........................................: 5  
tRAS..........................................: 15  
[b]Advanced Timing Control [Press Enter][/b] 
tRRD...........................................: AUTO
tWTR..........................................: AUTO
tWR............................................: AUTO
tRFC...........................................: 54
tRTP...........................................: AUTO
Command Rate (CMD) ....................: 2

Channel A
Static tRead Value.........................: 8
Channel B
Static tRead Value.........................: 8

[b][U]Motherboard Voltage Control[/b][/U] 
Voltage Type.………... Manual  
[b]CPU[/b] 
Load Line Calibration......................: Disabled 
CPU Vcore..................................: 1.40V 
CPU Termination…..... 1.200V*..............: 1.25 - 1.3V 
CPU PLL...............1.500V*..............: AUTO 
CPU Reference.........0.755V*..............: AUTO 
[b]MCH/ICH[/b] 
MCH Core..............1.100V...............: 1.26V 
MCH Reference.........0.800V...............: AUTO 
MCH/DRAM Ref..........0.900V...............: AUTO
ICH I/O...............1.550V...............: AUTO 
ICH Core............……1.100V...............: AUTO 
[b]DRAM[/b] 
DRAM Voltage..........1.800V...............: 2.0V 
DRAM Termination......0.900V...............: AUTO 
Channel A Reference...0.900V...............: AUTO 
Channel B Reference...0.900V...............: AUTO 
[b][U]Advanced Settings[b][/U] 
Limit CPUID Max. to 3......................: [Disabled] 
No-Execute Memory Protect..................: [Enabled] 
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E)....................: [Disabled] 
C2/C2E State Support.......................: [Disabled] 
x C4/C4E State Support.....................: [Disabled] 
CPU Thermal Monitor 2(TM2) ................: [Enabled] 
CPU EIST Function..........................: [Disabled] 
Virtualization Technology..................: [Disabled] (Enabled if you use Vmware/Virtual PC)
 
Last edited:

RollingThunder

Destroyer of Trolls & Spammers
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
okay, so ill wait 4 redduc to tell me what to do first

Gonchi,

To add to Redduc's posted settings, you need to have three programs available to you for testing:

1. Memtest86 V2.11 from a boot CD or floppy disk
2. Superpi
3. Orthos or Prime95.

As redduc stated, run Memtest86 from a boot disk before entering your operating system to prevent corruption. If it passes that (5-6 passes with no errors should give an indication if your overclock is close). Enter your operating system then run Superpi 32 mb test. If it passes that then you're ready for Prime95 or Orthos. Orthos is the same as Prime 95 except with a nice GUI laid over it for better clarity. Good luck and take your time.
 
OP
G

gonchi1207

Registered
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Gonchi,

To add to Redduc's posted settings, you need to have three programs available to you for testing:

1. Memtest86 V2.11 from a boot CD or floppy disk
2. Superpi
3. Orthos or Prime95.

As redduc stated, run Memtest86 from a boot disk before entering your operating system to prevent corruption. If it passes that (5-6 passes with no errors should give an indication if your overclock is close). Enter your operating system then run Superpi 32 mb test. If it passes that then you're ready for Prime95 or Orthos. Orthos is the same as Prime 95 except with a nice GUI laid over it for better clarity. Good luck and take your time.

OK, before doing the changes, is there any way this changes can harm permanently my hardware?

because some friends of mine, told me different things about overclocking, im sorry if this question is sort of n00b question...

for example, a friend of mine told me, that nowadays motherboards, like mine, have special security stuff so it wont fry any hardware although the only thing that can harm the cpu is the v core or smg like that...

and another friend told me that if u wanted to overclock u should do it gradually, because if not, it is easy to harm components..


by no means i am underestimating your knowledge about overclocking, not at all, i just want to know what risks this settings represent, in relation to an hypothetical hardware damage.


thnx in advantage, and if you confirm me there are no major risks, ill apply the settings right away :D
 

RollingThunder

Destroyer of Trolls & Spammers
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
OK, before doing the changes, is there any way this changes can harm permanently my hardware?

because some friends of mine, told me different things about overclocking, im sorry if this question is sort of n00b question...

for example, a friend of mine told me, that nowadays motherboards, like mine, have special security stuff so it wont fry any hardware although the only thing that can harm the cpu is the v core or smg like that...

and another friend told me that if u wanted to overclock u should do it gradually, because if not, it is easy to harm components..

by no means i am underestimating your knowledge about overclocking, not at all, i just want to know what risks this settings represent, in relation to an hypothetical hardware damage.

thnx in advantage, and if you confirm me there are no major risks, ill apply the settings right away :D

Gonchi,

There are always risks for over clocking but mild and conservative overclocking leaves very little risk to your components. Overclocking should be done conservatively if you are new at it and in graduated steps with the tests above at every overclock increase. Generally if your overclock is bad, it will fail Memtest86 without entering your operating system so you reboot and make your corrections. Most good boards won't let you boot into a dangerous area, it will just stop.

For instance, my overclock in my signature is very mild compared to the experts here. I am on stock cooling and voltage and that's enough for me.

As an added precaution, get Core Temp and run it minimized with the temps showing in your task bar and monitor it closely. I try to avoid temps running Orthos that go over 70C. That's my self-imposed conservative limit for my E8500 chip.

I am not familiar with your motherboard so you may want to ask redduc for a more conservative beginners overclock to start with and try it.