• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking Duron 800Mhz with MoBo MSI K7T Pro

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TeaM

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2001
Location
Finland
I have Duron 800Mhz with MoBo MSI K7T Pro and I'm trying to overclock it. Next thing to do is cut the L3 and etc. bridges and change the multiplier settings.

I'm just curious and I would like to ask IF someone have done this before. I'm going to use stereomicroscope and small knife (that kind of knife what u use when u are making autopsy)

So if u have any comments or so, please write.
 

Tachyon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Location
Arkansas
Sounds like a plan. Make sure that you cut all of the bridges completely and you should be in business. Please post your results!
 

App

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2001
Location
Holland (Europe)
I have tried to pencil trick the L6, L3, L4 and L7 bridges on my TBird 1 ghz as described in Tom's Hardware article 'Overclocking AMD's Socket Processors ( http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/00q3/000711/index.html ) to try to change the multiplier. I aimed at the TBirds 1.2 ghz setting, but got no results. The multiplier setting did not change. On the MSI K7T Pro mobo you cannot change the multiplier. Only the FSB can be changed via the BIOS (I'm using BIOS version 2.0). Increased the FSB to 109 (1090 mhz) not stable. I'm running now at 107 (1070 mhz) and the system is stable. I wonder if there are other ways to increase the multiplier setting. Please post your results in your effort to O/C the Duron 800Mhz.
 
OP
T

TeaM

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2001
Location
Finland
It isn't working. Dang and I was so enthusiastic about it. The good thing about this is that my processor is still working. I reconnected the correct bridges and tried to start my computer but at first it just didn't boot up. I don't know why but it started after I pushed the reset button.
 

DE

Registered
Joined
Feb 4, 2001


App (Jan 19, 2001 02:06 a.m.):
I have tried to pencil trick the L6, L3, L4 and L7 bridges on my TBird 1 ghz as described in Tom's Hardware article 'Overclocking AMD's Socket Processors ( http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/00q3/000711/index.html ) to try to change the multiplier. I aimed at the TBirds 1.2 ghz setting, but got no results. The multiplier setting did not change. On the MSI K7T Pro mobo you cannot change the multiplier. Only the FSB can be changed via the BIOS (I'm using BIOS version 2.0). Increased the FSB to 109 (1090 mhz) not stable. I'm running now at 107 (1070 mhz) and the system is stable. I wonder if there are other ways to increase the multiplier setting. Please post your results in your effort to O/C the Duron 800Mhz.