• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking problem need some help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Spock

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Location
washington
I was clocking my celeron [email protected] mhz no problems at all. Until I got my geforce 3 ti200. Now I can't OC past 892mhz. It just won't go past the windows xp loading screen. My previus video card was GeForce 2 MX. Im running 512 megs of ram TUSL2-C mobo... with 250 watt psu please help! ;D
 

XprincoX

bargain hunter
Joined
Aug 30, 2001
Location
Irvine, CA
First of all welcome to the Forums and our lil slice of heaven :D

Well your PS maybe holding u back, as the GF3 takes muuuch more juice to power than the GT2. :burn:
 
OP
S

Spock

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Location
washington
what do you sugest?

Well what do you sugest I get a new psu or a new cpu? or is there something else I can do? ;D
 

XprincoX

bargain hunter
Joined
Aug 30, 2001
Location
Irvine, CA
well that really depends, with technology like computers its really hard to say exactly the best time to upgrade is. But then looking ahead towards to future a bigger PS would probably be a good investment. And as cpu start to fall again with the new releases you can also start looking into cpus. But IMO i would probably go wit the PS first. :burn:
 

XprincoX

bargain hunter
Joined
Aug 30, 2001
Location
Irvine, CA
yes i highly agree get as much power as u can as u'll be able to use the bugger for a much loooonger time. If u want some suggestions on manufactures, basically enermax or antec are the big 2 favs. :burn:
 

Starfoxer

World's Biggest E-Thug
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Location
USA
welcome to the forums

if you have a COMP USA near by they have a ANTEC 400W PSU
on sale for 70$ + 20$ in rebates. it is a great quality PSU and
will solve all of your powering needs :p
 

Yodums

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2001
Location
Ottawa, Canada
I would recommend like a 550 watt, just for longitivity, and you won't be buying a new PSU every year because it gets outdated that fast.
 

NASsoccer

On a string I was held Senior
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Location
i live
fortunately a good high quality PSU will last you a while. i would say do with the 550 watt also because it will save you from having to buy another one not too far down the road. Plus, with all that power you won't have to worry too much about loading it up with fans and coolers:D
 
OP
S

Spock

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Location
washington
k

Well im going for a 350 watt, Im not a rich man atm. Also how do I set my agp for 2/3? instead of 1/2
 

Tweak

Registered
Joined
Mar 24, 2001
Spock said:
I was clocking my celeron [email protected] mhz no problems at all. Until I got my geforce 3 ti200. Now I can't OC past 892mhz. It just won't go past the windows xp loading screen. My previus video card was GeForce 2 MX. Im running 512 megs of ram TUSL2-C mobo... with 250 watt psu please help! ;D

To me it sounds like 2 problems, the PSU is puney and mabee your video card just does not like to overclock. I have had both problems in my past.