• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking SL6RZ on IC7

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Icarus

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Location
USA
Hi! I'm thinking of getting a new mobo along with my new SL6RZ 3309 chip for some serious overclocking. Basically, it has boiled down to 2 choices: the Abit IC-7 or BH-7.

I'm leaning towards getting the IC-7, but I'm a little worried about the RAM that I have (Corsair 512mb x 2 PC3200LL). Since 845PE mobos run at DDR333mhz, wouldn't that theoretically give me more headway to overclock as opposed to 400mhz on the Canterwood? What do you guys think? Thanks in advance for any replies! :)
 

micamica1217

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Icarus said:
Hi! I'm thinking of getting a new mobo along with my new SL6RZ 3309 chip for some serious overclocking. Basically, it has boiled down to 2 choices: the Abit IC-7 or BH-7.

I'm leaning towards getting the IC-7, but I'm a little worried about the RAM that I have (Corsair 512mb x 2 PC3200LL). Since 845PE mobos run at DDR333mhz, wouldn't that theoretically give me more headway to overclock as opposed to 400mhz on the Canterwood? What do you guys think? Thanks in advance for any replies! :)

welcome to the forums.

I can't see why the IC7 will hold you back in any way or you would be able to have more room to OC with the BH7...

the IC7 is a great choice for OCing...full bandwith, at every step of the way.

I thought that the LL mem was no good on the new canterwood mobos, yet some peeps are running with them with nice results.

at 200fsb you'll first top off at 400 mem speed...the normal rating for your memory.
your memory should be able to hit 428 speeds with 2.7vdimm...

just run your mem at 1/1 ratio and crank that chip up high.

mica
 

batboy

Senior Moment
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Location
Kansas, USA
I think you're confusing the DDR333 vs. DDR400 " official support". The 845PE can run faster RAM than DDR333, it's just not "officially supported". Just like in the IC7, I'm running DDR433 RAM in it even though it technically only supports DDR400. The IC7 is better than the 845PE mobos for several reasons. The three most important reasons are that you can run insanely high FSB, it's a stable overclocker, and the dual channel DDR provides more memory bandwidth.
 

JDLT1

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Hey man I went from an IT7 to IC7-G cant be happier. IC7 all the way! running my SL6RZ @ 203.

JDLT1
 
OP
I

Icarus

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Location
USA
another question: Does dual DDR offer a significant performance increase? I'll be doing a lot of video editing and stuff and so I'm still wondering if its worth it to get that canterwood board. It is an $60 over the BH7, after all... :(
 

micamica1217

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
and going with an IC7 will increase your bandwith and scores at the same FSB...as well as performance.

I've never seen photoshop open up so quick before in my life.:eek:

just to give you a comparison on the p4pe vs the IC7...
167fsb for testing:

pcmark2003

p4pe-----ic7

7228-----7408
6581-----8189
1393-----1041

as you see, you'll get an increase in performance at the same FSB.

mica
 

batboy

Senior Moment
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Location
Kansas, USA
Icarus said:
another question: Does dual DDR offer a significant performance increase? I'll be doing a lot of video editing and stuff and so I'm still wondering if its worth it to get that canterwood board. It is an $60 over the BH7, after all... :(

Define "significant". If you're after the best performance possible, then yes it's worth it. If you can't afford the extra $60, then you'll have to make a compromise. I know that I'm glad I got the IC7. One compromise would be getting the Abit IS7 (Springdale chipset) instead of the IC7. That would save you a little cash and still have all of the IC7 features.
 

XxSuN_SoOxX

Registered
Joined
Nov 18, 2002
Location
tx
hey i have the ic7-g w/sl6rz costa 3306 batch,, supposedly it runs 3.0 ghz at stock vcore which it did on the ic7-g,, righ tnow i have it running at 3.2 1.6 vcore,, running 31 idle 35 full load w/spark 7 fan and other cooling mods on my tower,, a total of 10 fans actually =),, but i really do recommend ic7-g or the normal ones,, they are kick *** w/the twinx 3200LLPT,, w/bios 1.1 im runnin 2-2-2-5,, and i got 15000 on my 3dmark w/gainward gf4 4600 powerpack =),, on sandra i beat all the test for ram and the 3.06 ghz w/out ht enabled,, im very happy for my system,, and later will be getting the 2.4C =) but its worth it,, bh7 is very good itself,, but only single channel ddr,, if ur tight on money u should go the bh7 if not go the cwoods =)
 
OP
I

Icarus

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Location
USA
thanks for all the input, guys. I've already ordered a Abit IC-7 Board. I'll keep you guys informed with my overclocks when it arrives. :)
 

LandShark

Super Shark Moderator
Joined
Aug 13, 2001
Location
Deep Blue Sea (Maryland)
Icarus said:
another question: Does dual DDR offer a significant performance increase? I'll be doing a lot of video editing and stuff and so I'm still wondering if its worth it to get that canterwood board. It is an $60 over the BH7, after all... :(
you WILL notice the difference between DualDDR and SingleDDR in video for sure!! (i do quite a few video myself too, mainly encoding VideoCD).

does it worth the extra $$? well, that's depend on yourself! is a couple mins faster to encode/compress your video worth the extra $$ to you?? or you don't mind to go make another pot of coffee for the extra time you'll have to wait??