• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking your 9500np, 9500pro and 9700 np

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Super Nintendo

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Location
Washington
Since so many people are asking this question on how to flash bios on the 9500np, 9500pro and 9700np I will explain so I won't have to keep on doing it.

Here are a couple of place you can read up on before you start flashing your card.

9700 np - http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?threadid=33667164&perpage=20&pagenumber=1

9500 np and 9500 pro - http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?threadid=33654157

Before you do any of this your going to have to uninstall your Ati video drivers and any software that goes with it.

First off you have to find out the Manufacture of your card. After that you need to go to this website http://www.3dchipset.com/bios/ati/warp11/index.php Choose the manufacture that your card is made by. Download the bios. Another good bios for the 9700 np is at this site, this is for the Infineon memory on the 9700 np http://homepage.ntlworld.com/paul.toler/97PinfiN.BIN And for the other 9700 np bios that have been working very good with the Samsung/Hynix memory is http://homepage.ntlworld.com/paul.toler/97PmufuP.BIN

Next you need to download the atiflash tool and you can find that at http://www.3dchipset.com/bios/ati/flash/index.php After you get the bios you need and the flash tool, Make two boot disk so you can boot into dos to flash your bios. To make a boot disk you have to go into my computer, then right click on the floppy drive and format disk with MS-Dos system files. This will let you boot into dos when you have the floppy in the drive as you restart your computer. If you have win2k you can make the boot disk by going to this site http://www.bootdisk.com/

After you make the two boot disk put the atiflash tool on both floppies and the bios you need to flash the card on only one of the two floopies. On the floppy you don't have the bios on you need to get into dos and do atiflash -s 0 XXXX.bin saves your current BIOS to the file "XXXX.bin" (you can call it anything you want and the 0 is a zero not the letter o). Then on the Floppy you have the orginal bios on you make a autoexec.bat file with this added to it

@echo off
cls
atiflash -f -p 0 "XXXX.bin" (Or what ever you named your orginal bios as).

Then take the floppy that has the atiflash and orginal bios and put it somewhere that you won't lose it. This floppy is just incase the bios didn't work and you just have to put it in and restart and it will flash you ati card back to the original bios.

Then put in the floppy with the bios you want to flash your card with. Next type atiflash -f -p 0 "XXXX.bin" (Where the XXXX is the name of the bios you want to flash your card with. Also the 0 is a zero not the letter o)

After that you take the floppy out and restart your computer. Now it should be flashed with the new bios. If it didn't work put the floppy with the orginal bios and start your computer up with that. It will flash your card and the problem will go away. Most of the time people will restart there computer and the screen will be black and the other floppy it will fix it without you trying to find a pci card so you can flash your ati card back to its original bios.

When you get into windows you can installed the Ati bios you want, and any other software that came with your video card or you downloaded.

There is always an inherent danger whenever you flash a BIOS. Please be aware that this will violate and void the warranty on your video card. Neither myself or 3DChipset or warp11 or Mufu aren't responsible for any damage that may occur! You are doing this at your own risk.

Thanks and good luck

SNES

Link to a website of bios for different ATI cards http://www.ocfaq.com/softmod/bios.php

edit: The mufu bios links and the infin link up above doesn't work and the one below are the ones you can use. Thanks to Nolo31 for the links below.

here is some other links for pro bios and different non-pro bios so enjoy.

9800 Pro bios
http://www.doomiii.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/98-8004.BIN (Saphire 9800PRO bios)

9700 Pro bios
http://webpages.charter.net/nickcotter/ATI files/97PinfiN.BIN (PAL)
http://webpages.charter.net/nickcotter/ATI files/97PmufuN.BIN (NTSC)
http://webpages.charter.net/nickcotter/ATI files/97PmufuP.BIN (Infineon memory)

9700 Non-pro bios
http://webpages.charter.net/nickcotter/ATI files/97npclub.bin (Club 3d)
http://webpages.charter.net/nickcotter/ATI files/97npsap.bin (Sapphire pal to ntsc)
http://webpages.charter.net/nickcotter/ATI files/fly97300.BIN (can't remember)

9500pro bios
http://tric.topcities.com/ (Darkmage bios)


edit: here is the link for Flashrom since some people are having troubles with the atiflash program
http://www.hk-schweisstechnik.de/Files/Bios/flashrom.zip

edit: original bios for different types of ati cards

http://www.freewebs.com/squeak/v1_1/bios.htm
 
Last edited:

cozmo_d

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2000
Location
Planet X
Curiouse ? Why would I have to uninstall my current vid drivers before the bios flash ??
==============================================

A small amout of clairification.......

After you boot your computer using the floppy, at the A:\
type this:

(THIS SAVES YOUR ORIGINAL BIO)
atiflash -s 0 original.bin
(that is a zero not an 'o')

(THIS FLASHES THE NEW BIOS)
atiflash -f -p 0 nameofnewbiosfile.bin
(that is a zero not an 'o')
 
Last edited:

cozmo_d

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2000
Location
Planet X
Another huge tip at least it helped me alot...

When upgrading your video card, Clear your mb's Cmos after you remove the Old drivers and before you install the new video card.

Not alwayes needed but, Definataly recomended.
 
Last edited:
OP
Super Nintendo

Super Nintendo

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Location
Washington
the reason for the uninstalling of the software is because you updating the bios and when you do that you are letting your card able to overclock and with the driver software some of it lets you overclock with software you dl from ati. If you read more of the warp11 in www.raged3d.com it explains more about that. Its just a good idea to uninstall the drivers.

and about the atiflash you were talking about that is correct. If you read this and the forums from www.raged3d.com its not that confusing to do. You just have to read it carefully and understand it before you flash the bios.
 

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
must buy floppy drive. :eek:

never bought one for either of my systems cause i never use them. :(

edit: can you do this with an empty hard drive? i've got a spare in right now thats clean.
 
OP
Super Nintendo

Super Nintendo

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Location
Washington
Maxvla you can always make a boot disk with a cdr, just use nero or whatever program you use for burning cds and make a boot disk and add the files needed to flash your bios.
 

gahdzila

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2002
Location
West Monroe, Louisiana
very nice post, SNES. a few suggestions:

1) mods: sticky this for a while...at least while these vid cards are as popular as they are now
2) SNES: get yourself a funky Mario avatar :D

haven't oc'ed my 9500pro yet...but it is on my list of upcoming projects
 
OP
Super Nintendo

Super Nintendo

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Location
Washington
if you going to flash your ati cards read here.

I'm just posting again because people are not doing a search and keep on asking the same question so now it will be at the beginning of the ati thread.
 

gahdzila

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2002
Location
West Monroe, Louisiana
just flashed to warp11's 9500 pro bios. thanks for the very helpful how-to, SNES!!!!

what overclocking utilities are most of you using? powerstrip crossed my mind, I used it once, but doesn't it have a registration fee? I don't need any of the other features, just an overclocking utility. I downloaded rage3d's utility, it seems to work fine.

what core/mem speeds are most of you getting from your unlocked 9500 pro?
 
OP
Super Nintendo

Super Nintendo

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Location
Washington
I tryed rage3d for a bit but I like powerstrip better then rage3d. I would just research some of the links I left and see what people are getting. Also just slow up the speed on the mem/core until you get a nice clock speed.
 

gahdzila

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2002
Location
West Monroe, Louisiana
w00t!

if for no other reason than the fact that this thread needs a bump, here's my 3dmark2001se scores on my bios-flashed 9500 pro:

stock: 11500
315/302: 12068

the 315/302 was just an arbitrary number I picked to oc to, based on what others have been getting. I expect that the core will go even faster!
 

Conan

Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2002
Location
London
yeah i flashed my hercules 9700 np and i got 15050 @300/320 while i had 13800 before!!
 

Samoyed

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Location
VA
I admit that I did not read the link on the 9500 bios update but I DID read somewhere that the BIOS update unlocks something like 4 unused pathways on the 9500 that are deactivated to sell it as a budget card. What I read said that the 9500 have the same number of transisters as the 9700 but with some of the pipelines disabled. The new 9600 Pro is not the same in that it is a different chip with fewer transisters and hence cheaper for ATI to make.

Anybody heard of this?
 

Celestial_fury

Registered
Joined
Apr 27, 2003
Samoyed said:
I admit that I did not read the link on the 9500 bios update but I DID read somewhere that the BIOS update unlocks something like 4 unused pathways on the 9500 that are deactivated to sell it as a budget card. What I read said that the 9500 have the same number of transisters as the 9700 but with some of the pipelines disabled. The new 9600 Pro is not the same in that it is a different chip with fewer transisters and hence cheaper for ATI to make.

Anybody heard of this?


The cards are set up as follows:

9500NP (inline memory chips): ...128 bit 4 pipelines 275/275 clock
9500NP ('L' shaped mem chips):..256 bit 4 pipelines 275/275 clock
9500 PRO:....................................128 Bit 8 Pipelines 275/275 clock

9700NP........................................256bit 8 pipelines 275/275 clock
9700 PRO.....................................256 bit 8 pipelines 325/310 clock

It was discovered that the 9500 NON Pro cards from early production runs used the same PCB as the 9700 cards and had the memory chips with 2 along the top edge and 2 along the side ('L' shaped). Upon closer examination, it was discovered that the ONLY difference between the cards was the location of a small (smaller than a grain of rice) resistor under the heatsink right beside the core.
Some enterprising Russian chaps decided to move the resistor from the 9500 position to the 9700 position (about 2 mm) and see what would happen........
Lo! and behold! the card magically obtained an extra 4 pipelines.
Now look at the above table........... the 9500NP ('L' shaped mem) had 256bit and 4 pipelines, add the 4 'new' pipes and you get 8 pipelines.
See anything that looks the same???
YES!!!
a 9700 NP :D

Unfortunately, some problems started appearing......
ATI use a process whereby the components are all manufactured together and tested to see what they are capable of.
If all 8 pipelines work, then the card goes out as a 9700.
If a pipeline is faulty, the resistor is put in the 9500 position and the card goes out as a 9500.
Move the resistor back and u get graphical errors (chessboard/checkerboard effect). Sometimes these can be removed by disabling Hierarchical 'Z' using rage3D tweak, sometimes a voltage increase will do the same.

FORTUNATELY, what can sometimes happen is that ATI need a large run of 9500 cards to go out, so they take an entire production run and mark them as 9500 NPs with the resistor in the appropriate position. As a result of this you may find that your card may be perfectly able to run as a 9700. In fact, the card IS a 9700. The chances of this happening are between 40% and 60% depending on where you read.

Now try upping the core/mem speeds..... if you can hit 325/310 you have yourself a 9700 PRO for the price of a 9500NP (mine hits 416/365 with a vcore voltmod)

NOTE:
Some cards need a BIOS flash to make the MOD work perfectly (recognised as a 9700 by drivers and windows) or to enable overclocking - mine didnt.

ALSO:
The mod will only turn a card with the 'L' shaped mem config into a 9700 card. I THINK it will turn the 'straight mem' card into a 9500 PRO, but I aint too sure, so read up.

THIS MOD WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY


HERES A LINK to my modded 9500 NP ('L' mem)


HTH

Flymo