• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P4 1.5ghz?????????????

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Pnx

Well i'm kinda new at this but i've read severel tuturials about overclocking and have decided to try. As you all know the p4 come with the multiplier factor locked so the only way to overclock is incresing the FSB. My problem is that when i increse the FSB and after regulate the AGP and PCI frequencies my pc don't boot. I've tried to increase the core voltage but it still doesn't work. Any sugestions would be apreciated.

By the way just to check what's the tollerance of the AGP and PCI frequencies i know that Agp works at 66 Mhz and Pci at 33Mhz but how much can i increase that value and how will it affect the memory function.

Thx Anyway
:mad:

jazztrumpet216

Senior @ss
There could be a number of things causing your PC not to boot. First off, what FSB are you trying to boot your PC at? I wouldn't take too big of a jump... maybe take it to 110MHz FSB to start off with and see if that works, then increase speed little by little from there.

What kind of motherboard are you using? Certain chipsets allow you to lock your PCI and AGP at 33/66MHz respectively so you don't have to worry about it. Most PCI devices and hard drives start to malfunction when the PCI bus reaches around 37-38MHz.

What kind of your cooling are you using? Those older Willamette P4's put out a lot of heat. You might not get very far with stock cooling.

David

Forums Super Moderator
As far as I am aware P4 1.5GHz CPUs are very poor for overclocking. Depending on how large your attempted FSB adjustment was it maybe just cant take it.

OP
P

Pnx