• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P4 mobo with ISA (ms-6530)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

stevenaaus

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
I bought an old mobo with sdram support and an 845 chipset.
It runs my 1700 celeron fine, but when i put in my 800fsb 2400 northwood P4, it only gets to 1200MHz.
The board is listed as supporting 2400 400fsb northwoods.

Sorry for being such a noob, but my questions are
1) Are the 400fsb P4-2400 and the 800 fsb P4-2400 the same chip
2) Any chance of getting this chip running at 2400 instead of 1200MHz which it boots up at (given that it only has 100MHz SDRAM)
3) Does anyone have experience with the MSI MS-6530. It's an OEM product only, and not widespread.
 

Bobnova

Senior Member
Joined
May 10, 2009
If it only supports 400fsb (100mhz x4) you won't be able to get it to run 800fsb (200mhz x4). Nor will the cpu run at it's normal speed, as the multiplier for 2400mhz on 800fsb is 12 (12x200=2400), while the multi for 2400mhz on 400fsb is 24 (24x100=2400).

They are not the same chip, i'm actually surprised the 800fsb flavor works in a 400fsb mobo.

Unfortunately you're pretty much out of luck, you need a 400fsb CPU if you want full speed.
 
OP
S

stevenaaus

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Yeah... Thanks for the info. Nice to find a site with good, no-bs hardware knowledge :>

I'm just setting up this board for a friend who supports legacy ISA hardware.
I'll check out ebay and get a fast 100mhz chip.

... I'd still like to hear if anyone's used this board. The 845 chipset was fairly common i suppose,
but actual ISA slots on the mobo not so. I've never owned too many netburst boxes.
Any idea if XP and Win98SE will both work ?
 

jmdixon85

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Location
Cumbria (UK)
Microsoft removed native support for "plug 'n' play" ISA cards in XP. Although you may still be able to get them to work I think you will be better off with Win2000 Pro
 
OP
S

stevenaaus

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
845 chipset at 133 ?

Will this chipset reliably overclock to 133MHz ? I tried briefly, it booted and knoppix for about 5 seconds -
but this was with PC100 SDRAM. I was wondering ... if i put in my spare 800FSB P4, and some PC133 ram,
will the chipset (vanilla 845 - brookdale?) be ok, or will i burn it out.