• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

p4 overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jdx11

hi, everyone. i'm a newbie to overclocking. i just overclocked my p4 2.0 to 2.5(of course i did a lot research before i started), my temperature is around 31c, Vcore is at 1.675, FSB 125, multiplier 20, and my system is running pretty stable. my question is, does the powersupply matter? (i have a 350w power supply on my computer. i'm afraid that as i increase my Vcore voltage, my powersupply won't provid enough power to my system, or my system won't be stable.) i read a lot of articles on this forum. i'm shocked that most people can increase their cpu speed 800mhz or even more. i'm not sure how they did it. i know a good mobo and ram is essential for overclocking, but i'm not sure about powersupply. by the way, does anybody know the max speed that i can overclock to?
thanks for reading
northwood p4 [email protected]
asus p4b533
samsung pc2700
leadtek Geforce 4 Ti4200

batboy

Senior Moment
A 350 watt power supply is about average. You should be ok, as long as you don't run a huge amount of components, like multiple harddrives, CD-ROM/burners, and DVD-ROMs all at once. Having 10 cooling fans will use more power than a modest bump in vcore.

You're actually getting close to what I would consider the safe limit with the voltage. I wouldn't go above 1.75v and not even that much without good cooling.