• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P4 questions....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

prelude2005

Registered
if you have a P4 do you HAVE to use RDRAM? or can you use SDRAM?

also, whats the differ between socket 478 and 423?

im new to this P4 think...im an amd guy heh :p

OP
P

prelude2005

Registered
prelude2005 said:
if you have a P4 do you HAVE to use RDRAM? or can you use SDRAM?

also, whats the differ between socket 478 and 423?

im new to this P4 think...im an amd guy heh :p

ONE more thing....P4's use ATX power supplies correct? (300 watt)

Bull

Depends on the board. They have Sdram Boards DDR 266 DDR 333 and Rdram boards. You have to have an approved PSU that has two extra connectors for the P4. The 423 socket is the old williamette and the 478 is the newer one. The older 478 processors have 256k of cache and the new northwoods have 512K.

OP
P

prelude2005

Registered
so fi the mobo supports all types of ram, ithe P4 can rake it right? no errors?

DDR, SDRAM, and RDRAM?

Bull

I have been researching into this lately because a Northwood is my next purchase. IMO Rdram is on its way out. I have been looking at boards by Asus and Abit. They make boards that have Sdram and DDR ram for the P4. I kind of like the reviews and performance of the SIS645 that supports DDR 333 and It won't break your wallet which is what I'm looking for. Also a 1.6a P4 is 133 dollars on newegg and the motherboard is 105. I'm thinking of watercooling it though some people give me strange looks like I'm crazy but oh well.

Daniel

OP
P

prelude2005

Registered
Bull said: