• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PC shutting down is ti PSU dieing

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Couger

Registered
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Location
UK
PC shutting down is my PSU dieing

Hi untill recently my pc has ran absolutly fine
what is happening is out of the blue the pc just shuts down ive checked everything in XP ive been monitoring psu voltages in MBM seems finr there 12v line is above 12v the 5v line is reading average of 4.92v and it does fluctuate but not alot

It just shuts down and the power light on the case remains on the pc wont restart untill i unplug the psu lead and plug it back in
then it starts theres nothing linking the shut downs to anything as when im playing games online its not done it yet only when im in windows and the machine is idle this happens,
Also im not getting any clues or indications as im not even getting Blue screens

Anyone ever had a similar experience

OH im running the Q-TEC Twin Fan 550 watt psu

Please Help im pulling my hair out

Thanks Couger:(
 

CrashOveride

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Location
Beijing, China
Well the voltages seem ok but it does sound like a PSU problem, you might want to look into a new PSU, maybe a Forton or Antec unit. Never heard of your brand, I wouldn't trust it with no reputation.

By PSU lead do you mean the ATX connector or the power cord?
 
OP
C

Couger

Registered
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Location
UK
Sorry i meant the power cord

ive been monitoring system variables in MBM and logging them here are some

| 28/12/2003 | 18:14:48 | 2203 MHz | 32° C | 38° C | 20° C | 1.70 V | 3.38 V | 4.92 V | 12.42 V | -12.42 V | -5.17 V |
| 28/12/2003 | 18:14:18 | 2203 MHz | 32° C | 37° C | 20° C | 1.70 V | 3.39 V | 4.92 V | 12.42 V | -12.42 V | -5.17 V |
| 28/12/2003 | 15:53:28 | 2206 MHz | 32° C | 37° C | 20° C | 1.70 V | 3.39 V | 4.92 V | 12.42 V | -12.42 V | -5.17 V |
| 28/12/2003 | 15:52:58 | 2206 MHz | 32° C | 37° C | 20° C | 1.70 V | 3.38 V | 4.89 V | 12.42 V | -12.42 V | -5.17 V |
| 28/12/2003 | 15:52:28 | 2206 MHz | 32° C | 37° C | 20° C | 1.70 V | 3.41 V | 4.92 V | 12.35 V | -12.35 V | -5.14 V |
| 28/12/2003 | 15:51:58 | 2206 MHz | 32° C | 35° C | 20° C | 1.68 V | 3.38 V | 4.95 V | 12.42 V | -12.42 V | -5.17 V |
| 28/12/2003 | 15:51:28 | 2206 MHz | 31° C | 37° C | 20° C | 1.70 V | 3.38 V | 4.92 V | 12.42 V | -12.42 V | -5.17 V |
| 28/12/2003 | 15:50:58 | 2206 MHz | 31° C | 37° C | 20° C | 1.68 V | 3.38 V | 4.92 V | 12.42 V | -12.42 V | -5.17 V |

This is the last time it shut down toady whilst i was at work

| 28/12/2003 | 11:58:12 | 2206 MHz | 35° C | 38° C | 23° C | 1.70 V | 3.38 V | 4.92 V | 12.42 V | -12.42 V | -5.17 V |
| 28/12/2003 | 11:57:42 | 2206 MHz | 35° C | 39° C | 23° C | 1.70 V | 3.38 V | 4.92 V | 12.42 V | -12.42 V | -5.17 V |
| 28/12/2003 | 11:57:12 | 2206 MHz | 35° C | 38° C | 23° C | 1.68 V | 3.36 V | 4.89 V | 12.42 V | -12.42 V | -5.17 V |
| 28/12/2003 | 11:56:42 | 2206 MHz | 35° C | 39° C | 23° C | 1.70 V | 3.33 V | 4.89 V | 12.42 V | -12.42 V | -5.17 V |


I have a whole text log if anyone wishes to see it

Thanks Couger:(
 
OP
C

Couger

Registered
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Location
UK
Damm this thing jsut done it to me again come away from pc to anwser phone and puff off it goes i dont understand this theres nothing in Event logs in XP all my voltages seem fine im not getting any blue screens

Im starting to think my PSU is about to die question is do i turn it off before it kills rest of hardware:(

Thanks Couger
 

CrashOveride

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Location
Beijing, China
You should try another PSU... do you have any friends who have an extra? or just a nice PSU?

Your local PC shop might let you test one... I dunoo.

It almost has to be the PSU because you have to unplug it... Check in your case and make sure there arn't any loose wires or anything hanging around that might short... (if you ahve cut any PSU wires or anything I mean) If there was a short I think some PSUs turn of and won't go back on until you re-set them...
 
OP
C

Couger

Registered
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Location
UK
Hi all so far ive opened the pc and checked every wire and connector is not shorted out or plugged in correctly
i have 5 mins ago fired the pc and wiggled all the wires and it hasnt shorted out

so if it still persists then i know its the PSU

Thanks Couger:(
 
OP
C

Couger

Registered
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Location
UK
Well looks like im getting a new PSU as its done it again

Went for hours with no probs then after i dropped out of 3 hours of online gaming shortly after puff it shut down

Can anyone say they have had or heard of similar issues like this in the past

And i need at least 450 watt psu any recommendations

Thanks Couger :(
 

CrashOveride

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Location
Beijing, China
I would say ~400w Antec (True Power) or Channel Well or 350w/530w Fortron/Sparkel (maybe a 300w like larry said but I would be hesitant to get that considering the price differnce and the fact that the 350w one is right near the line for not powering systems with a lotta drives or highly OCed processors...
 
OP
C

Couger

Registered
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Location
UK
To be honest ill take any recommendation to a new PSU heres what my system is running

All bellow are running in a Thermaltake XaserIII 2000a silver case

1 x TT Volcano 12 CPU FAN
Asus A7N8X deluxe version 2
XP2800+ with uppped FSB in bios to (200 FSB) overclocking it to XP3200+
Ati 9700 pro
Creative Audigy2 zs
Network card
4" Green cathode
2 x 80 mm Delta fans on the front panel
2 x 80 mmcouloured led fans on side panel
2 x 80 mm akasa fans on rear panel
1 x 80mm led fan in roof
40 gig Maxtor (windows drive)
60 gig maxtor
2 x 80 gig maxtors running on a PCI IDE controller card
1 x Pioneer A04 dvd writer
1 x TDK Cyclone cd writer
2 x 512mb pc2700 (1 GIG) running in dual ddr mode

thing thats about the lot

Now any idea what ill get away with running that lot with and still have room for future upgrades

Thanks Couger:(
 
OP
C

Couger

Registered
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Location
UK
Well id like to confirm that the psu is dead im now running a spare 350 watt psu and ive had to unplug non essential devices

Here are some pics of inside of Psu

Can anyone tell me if this is damage i have caused by overloading it or is it that its just packed up

DSCF0010.JPG


As you can see the 2 capacitors have blown and are causing the psu to be unstable and cause all the symptons i have had

DSCF0011.JPG


Im just curious does anyone know what part of the psu would those capacitors have interacted with, were they on the input side or output im wondering what could have made them Pop thats all

To replace the psu ive ordered this one

THIS PSU


Thanks for all your help so far

Couger:)
 

Oklahoma Wolf

Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover
Joined
Mar 18, 2003
Ah, the joys of running Q-Tec...

Those caps are on the output side and most likely blew as a result of the PSU running beyond its capacity and poor design. That Antec will laugh at the same load the Q-Tec was straining to power ;)
 

CrashOveride

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Location
Beijing, China
Ya, THAT IS DEAD... lol

Fortron 530, Antec (True Power) ~400w, PC Power and cooling (if you want to spend lots of cash) are some options....

I would get the fortron, I like inexpensive stuff (not "cheap", inexpensive).
 
OP
C

Couger

Registered
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Location
UK
good job i opened psu and checked im sitting here wondering whats the worst that could have happened to my pc because of the condition of that psu

Im getting a new Antec PSU True Blue 480w Blue Led Fan
be here on friday YAY

Thanks Couger:)
 

larrymoencurly

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
I'd scrap a supply like that for parts, unless I absolutely had to use it or I wanted to practice soldering. If I did, I'd replace all the low voltage capacitors because they could all be in the same rotten condition, especially if they were made by one of the Taiwan companies that bought faulty electrolyte. Some affected brands are JGE, JEE, Jackcon, and HEC, but Jamicon and Teapo apparently never were. Funny, but my cheap PSUs have JEE and JGE, while my Fortrons and Deltas use Jamicon and Teapo -- coincidence? OTOH the high voltage capacitors use a different chemical and weren't affected. If you put in new capacitors, be sure they're rated for at least as much voltage and capacitance as the originals and also for 105 Celcius and for switching power supplies. I'd try getting them from an old PSU, even if it's not ATX.