• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

markodude

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Location
Europe
HI peeps
Some benchies on my amazing Micron PC2100 that will do 412mhzDDR on 8k3a @ 3.2vDIMM.
My AXP1600+ AGOGA Y will only do 1700-1750mhz with current cooling at 1.9vCore. So I can get either 9x190 or 8x205. I am going to try and get the 8.5x Multi working (need to redo my L1 bridges again I think) for the highest FSB/Processor OC combo.

Has anyone else got PC2100 that goes this high? My generic DDR333 will only do 175ish mhz, I had to swap it for this DDR266 to get such a high FSB!!!

190memband.jpg

190FSB

206memband.jpg

206FSB
 
OP
markodude

markodude

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Location
Europe
Wow, just noticed that the 8k3a must have automatically changed the mem timings from 1CMD to 2CMD automatically. I certainly didnt change any settings except FSB between benchies! Weird...
 

Garfield

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Location
New Jersey
CMD? What does this stand for? Hmm...what is it? Never heard of it before...

Anyways, those are some high speeds your memory is running at! My PC2100 is at 320MHz, but I'm getting there! No, I've never heard of any PC2100 going that high, and that's pretty good.

What divider do you have? Must be 1/5 or 1/6, or you PCI and AGP are going really quickly. :D
 

Yodums

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2001
Location
Ottawa, Canada
That's awsome. The only person that comes off the top of my head that has their ram really high is rogerdugans. He also has Micron chips which he pumped like 3.2v and 3.4vdimm through it.
 

maxima88

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
That's awesome for PC2100.
I've gotten to 9x206fsb but with PC3000 Mushkin though.
 

{PMS}fishy

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
I have two sticks of Crucial w/Micron chips from last winter, when they made the good stuff. I can take them up to 188 2.5-3-3-6-2 @ 3.2v I wonder if 3.4v would help. I have the volt-mod diagram :D
 

Garfield

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Location
New Jersey
Hmmm...I don't know if and when I should raise my vdimm. I think I'm running it at 2.6v right now. What do you think? Data rate is 320MHz...
 

Pinky

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Narf City, USA
Garfield, you can run up to 3.0v safely with average case cooling. Only raise it if you set the bus speed higher than the memory will run!
 

Garfield

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Location
New Jersey
Pinky said:
Garfield, you can run up to 3.0v safely with average case cooling. Only raise it if you set the bus speed higher than the memory will run!

What do you mean, "higher than the memory will run"? As in the stock speed? Because, I'm well over that. :) So, maybe I should raise the vdimm more. Or do you mean when the memory becomes unstable, then I would need to raise the vdimm?
 

rogerdugans

Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me...
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Location
Corner of No and Where
The list of those who are cranking the daylights out of pc2100 has grown:D

Still a pretty short list though!

And you have the highest fsb I know of for pc2100, man: NICE! I am definitely jealous! I had to crank up to 3.4 volts on mine to get to 185mhz neighborhood, although I have a few other rigs doing mid 170s at 3.2v.

I do love Micron ram chips:D Cheap, and the seem to really LIKE voltage! I have ram here that has been running at 3.2v for 9 months 24/7 with no complaints at all.

As far as the question about pumping the voltage to ram: pretty much the same as cpu overvolting: if you get instability from memory, add a bit of voltage to the ram and it should help.

[Yoda voice] Just like a cpu it will behave[/end Yoda voice] : make more heat- you may want to point a fan right at the ram. I'd say that is mandatory over 3 volts; The Law of Diminishing Returns applies: the first tenth of a volt will give you as much gain as all the rest of the adjustment you have, probably, and volt modding past 3.2 is very small return: I get about 3 or 4 mhz I think, for an extra .2v.
 

Garfield

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Location
New Jersey
>> As far as the question about pumping the voltage to ram: pretty much the same as cpu overvolting: if you get instability from memory, add a bit of voltage to the ram and it should help. <<

What are the synmptoms (sp?) of unstable memory? What happens when memory gets unstable?
 
OP
markodude

markodude

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Location
Europe
If you can run windows OK but get errors in Prime95, then either your CPU or Memory may need more voltage. Or either component may have reached their limit at the current voltage/temperature.
Increase memory voltage if you know that the CPU is within spec (ie run a low multiplier) but the RAM is causing errors due to the high FSB you are running....the increase the multiplier once you have reached the highest FSB your RAM can handle...
 
OP
markodude

markodude

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Location
Europe
Yep, I love Epox boards and am currently not loving ASUS much, maybe Im biased because the UK disti for Epox is just round the corner from my house and let me buy direct! I got my 8kta3Pro for £40...
Asus are ****ing me off cos I reckon their voltage regulators suck and their customer service is non existent, more fool me for buying two Asus mobos and having probs with both...