• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

pc2100 to pc3200 help!?!?!?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

killerkid

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
hi all, i have pc2100 ram in my laptop, i was wondering if i could use pc3200 or pc2700 ram. i want to use geil dragon ram. im upgrading my current samsung 256mb pc 2700 X2 to make 512ddr, to a geil 1gig pc 2700 or pc3200 if i cant use any of it. thanks.
 

Leviathan41

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Location
@Home, Folding
I believe most laptops come with RAM that matches their FSB speeds. PC2100 in your laptop likely means 266MHz FSB. You could use PC2700 or PC3200 RAM but it will run at PC2100 speeds so its pretty much useless.
 
OP
K

killerkid

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
so then your saying if i buy a stick of pc3200 ram, it WILL run at pc2100 and work correct?
 
OP
K

killerkid

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
the only reason im saying this is because crucial ram is 107.99 for pc2100, geil dragon pc3200 retail is 108, i mean common, dragon ram is gold!! lol. i like the look of it much better, and i have heard wonderful things about it. i wish geil made it in pc2100. again, this is for a laptop
 

ZachM

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Unless you are overclocking the faster RAM will basically make no difference. I do not recommend at all overclocking a laptop unless you have some insane cooling.
 
OP
K

killerkid

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
hey also, a little off-topic, does anyone know where i can find some usb led. i want a blue led that i can plug into my usb port and for it to glow blue. prefferably from newegg
 

Leviathan41

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Location
@Home, Folding
Yeah I thought you were, you can't really overclock laptops anyway. So if you wanna buy PC3200 RAM, it should work with your system but only run at PC2100 speeds assuming your laptop's FSB is 133, if its 166 (and they just stuck you with slow RAM) the the PC3200 will run at PC2700 speeds.
 
OP
K

killerkid

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
how would i find out what my fsb is? is there a program to tell me? and you are 100% sure that the 3200 will work at 2100 if my fsb is 133.
 
OP
K

killerkid

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
ok, im downloading it and going to run it in a second, also, anyone know where i can get usb led's for my laptop to make it look cooler at night :D
 
OP
K

killerkid

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
i ran mainboard information, it says front side bus speed 4x 133mhz (532MHz data rate) so what does this mean lol
 
OP
K

killerkid

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
yes, just like that, except do they make like a long thin tube? it would be really cool if it pulsated to my music.
 
OP
K

killerkid

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
ok, well thats ok, im going to get the pc3200 ram anyways since it will work.