• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Pelt Cold Plate

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Silver

Senior Citizen (aka old fart)
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Dallas, Georgia
Well, I went ahead and ordered the power supply (Pyramid PS36KX - $118 shipped) and a 226 watt tech. The question is what thickness on the cold plate? I really have no idea. 1/4, 1/8 seems a little thin. Input please.
 

Tecumseh

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Location
Ohio
Assuming your cold plate is copper....1/4 inch would be
fine, but 3/8 inch would be optimal. Any thicker buys
you nothing.
 

Diggrr

Underwater Senior Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
I'd vote for 3/8" myself also. That's what I've ordered for my new blocks (on the way from my friendly local machinist/pal).:beer:
 
OP
Silver

Silver

Senior Citizen (aka old fart)
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Dallas, Georgia
Recognizing the level of expertise exhibited here, I am off to purchase the cold plate. 3/8 it is. Thanks guys.:)
 
OP
Silver

Silver

Senior Citizen (aka old fart)
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Dallas, Georgia
Done, metals on line for $13. 3.25x2x3/8. Thanks again. Hoot, if you see this, it is going on the maze2 with a 226 watt tech.
 

Bender

Mysteriously Changing Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Location
In Thelemac's Basement Eating the Chickens
You can always add a coldplate to the Maze2 just like a 2-1. I took a Maze2 and drilled 4 holes with my drill press in the same place as the mounting holes were on the 2-1. Everything was fine until I got to threading the second hole. I broke my tap leaving it in the block. To bad because it would have been exactly like a 2-1 after the modd. I have a Maze2-1 and I didn't end up using that block on the system I was moding it for so no harm done. I think I'll have to get some of that 3/8" copper now. I used my coldplate for the waterblock I made Stompah.
 
OP
Silver

Silver

Senior Citizen (aka old fart)
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Dallas, Georgia
Bender said:
You can always add a coldplate to the Maze2 just like a 2-1. I took a Maze2 and drilled 4 holes with my drill press in the same place as the mounting holes were on the 2-1. Everything was fine until I got to threading the second hole. I broke my tap leaving it in the block. To bad because it would have been exactly like a 2-1 after the modd. I have a Maze2-1 and I didn't end up using that block on the system I was moding it for so no harm done. I think I'll have to get some of that 3/8" copper now. I used my coldplate for the waterblock I made Stompah.

How about skipping the threading all together and drilling straight through and using a screw through the entire block. Should work and will make the block useful once again.
 
OP
Silver

Silver

Senior Citizen (aka old fart)
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Dallas, Georgia
Dissolved said:


why dont u just get the maze2-1?

Bought it off of here and besides, I knew that the 1/8 maze 2/1 plate did not give me much in reserve on the plate. This is to say that with a 220 watt I knew they were using thicker plates, just did not know how thick.
 

rossd

Registered
Joined
Nov 16, 2001
Location
Silicon Valley California
Plate thickness should not depend on TEC power unless the high-power TECs are bigger in size.

Thermal drop through a metal is linear. There will be an optimal plate thickness and it will be the same for all wattages.

Of course, you'll still get a bigger thermal drop for higher wattages. That's the price you pay.

regards,
rossd.