• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Peltier Calculations Anyone?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

AMDGuy

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
I'm starting research on Peltier units. I'm wondering if anyone has the formulae for these devices. The things I'm looking to calculate are:

1. Based on a given processor wattage how much peltier is required to cool it and what is the lowest attainable core temp at this given wattage?

2. How much of a power supply is required to run a given watt peltier?

I'm looking at putting this on a future system with watercooling, but don't want to have to worry about condensation, so I'm looking at staying within 1-3 degrees C of ambient at idle.

Thanks for any help!
 

YardPig

Registered
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
I don't know about you, but my system is never in an idle state. I don't think this trusty Duron 700 @ 1120 2.1V A7V133 has seen an idle temp is a long time.
I would build it for 1-3 Degree C of ambient at full load.

Just my two bits.
Don't let THIS happen to you. hehehe

Take care
 
OP
AMDGuy

AMDGuy

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
Yep, that ice build up is exactly what I'm trying to avoid!
 

peewee

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2001
AMDGuy (Jun 15, 2001 02:59 p.m.):
Yep, that ice build up is exactly what I'm trying to avoid!

i just ordered a 156watter and some neopreme (whatever) rubber, im gonna wrap the block with it and make a cutout under for the cpu die, my temps are always high so im hoping the pelt wont put me down so low it causes condensation, my power supply i ordered is adjustable from 12 to 16 volts at 15amps constant, so i can adjust the pelt externally to make the temps right..
this is what i am hoping to happen tho, the real outcome is soon to come..
 

Badger

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
The condensation thing need not be a problem, all you have to do is insulate properly and you will have no trouble.
My [email protected] system runs minus 26C idle and minus 2C full load. I've been running it this way for over a year and have never had any condensation problems whatsoever.
Anyway with a fast AMD chip you will be lucky to get temps much below ambient anyway, those chips give off soooo much heat.
 
OP
AMDGuy

AMDGuy

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
Badger (Jun 15, 2001 03:37 p.m.):
The condensation thing need not be a problem, all you have to do is insulate properly and you will have no trouble.
My [email protected] system runs minus 26C idle and minus 2C full load. I've been running it this way for over a year and have never had any condensation problems whatsoever.
Anyway with a fast AMD chip you will be lucky to get temps much below ambient anyway, those chips give off soooo much heat.

Can you provide any condensation prevention tips? Sounds like you know what you're doing if it's been running for over a year with no problems.
 

ken257

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
It is going to be very hard to make a system using a pelt that will stay 1-3C below ambient. The pelt runs at a fixed rate but your cpu heat output varies a lot depending on load this causes temp swings. There are temp control units for pelts but they cost $600+ this kind of defeats the purpose. If you want to just go a little below ambient or stay at that point your best bet would probably be a bong and water cooling.

If you do go with a tec build it for maximum performance and with proper insulation and motherboard preparation you will not have problems with condensation. As I am typing right now I have water at -23.7C running through my block and absolutly no condensation at all.

I am going to start prepping a Abit KT7A-R for use with a 172w tec this weekend and there was somebody else who wanted to know how to prevent condensation so I will be taking pics of the procedure, might make a little article out of it. We will be talking about it here http://forums.overclockers.ws/forums/UltraBoard.cgi?action=Read&BID=5&TID=16392&SID=799 and I will most likely post the pics and steps on my sight to keep the thread here from taking forever to load.
 

JaY_III

Senior of BX
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
When using a Peltier makes sure it is rated for 2.5 times (min) the max output in watts of teh CPU it is trying to cool. If you dont have that, well the Peltier may actually make your temps go up