• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

peltier drinks cooler?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FightTheFuture

Hello everyone!

I'm a bit new at this, so please bear with me. This is the first time I've ever used the oc-forums.

I am a final-year IGCSE student (grade 10, for those people under the American system), studying for an IG in Design Technology: Design & Realisation in Bangkok, Thailand. I have decided to create a peltier-based drinks cooler as my project.

So this doesn't actually doesn't really have anything to do with computers, per se, so I hope I'm in the right place.

I intend to use a second-hand PSU, probably around 220 wats or less. It will power only the Peltier and a single fan for the heat sink. The casing I will make myself, probably using metal for the base (where the PSU and the Peltier will be), and plastic piping for the drinks-holder on top. This will be insulated with bubble-rap (don't know what its called in the US - its the packaging stuff that people always pop) (probably), and metal - possibly copper, to retain heat and insure that any spillage does not damage the Peltier or PSU. The casing will be coated with black wood for aesthetics.

What type of Peltier should I use? Will 220wats be enough? Is there anything I need to know about Peltiers before I start? What type of heatsink/fan should I use? Do I need a fan, or can I simply let the exhaust from the PSU cool the heatsink? Should I use thermal grease or thermal expoxy? I dont want any condensation ruining my Peltier and PSU, so is covering the PSU with a plastic bag (with holes cut to enable airflow) a good idea? Would covering the edges of the Peltier with thermal grease or epoxy stop condensation from destroying it (Thailand is very humid)?