• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Pentium G3258 Overclock

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Trivium

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
Hello. This is my first time posting here so I'm sorry if I'm making some mistakes, and it's also my first time overclocking.
So, last week I got my new PC, and I started researching on overclocking this CPU. Been testing out since then and today I got it to 4.5Ghz and the core voltage is 1.241. At first, I didn't touch the voltage at all, I left it at auto, and went to 1.374v which scared me and while testing out on BF3 I noticed a big change in performance, was runing in ultra with vsync on with no problems, and the max temperature was about 80º, and on the GTA 5 benchmark it wen't to 75º with basicaly everything maxed out at 30 fps locked (because GTA5 has some issues with dual core CPUs, if I disable half vsync, the game stutters.) So since the voltages were scaring me, I was able to go down to 1.241v and I noticed a small drop in frames, not something over the top, and the temps went down quite a lot, down to 68ish, never reaching 70 on both games. I was trying to go for 1.250v, but for some reason, as I try to type it the value goes back to the previous inserted voltage, so 1.241 was the voltage I was able to achiev.
So my question is, why can't I change it to 1.250, and if at this current state, 1.241v and current temps is safe and overall good.

Specs:
Pentium G3258
ASUS GTX 950 OC 2GBDDR5
MB Asus H81 Gamer Intel SKT1150 4xDDR3
Power Supply: Nox Urano SX 500W
Kingston HyperX Savage 8Gb

Cheers.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Cheap motherboard likely doesn't allow more than that voltage? Have you tried updating the BIOS?

That aside, I would consider getting a better quality PSU. That thing only has 372W on the 12V rail. You are fine now, but I wouldn't get a much more powerful GPU in the future on that thing. Modern PSUs have the overwhelming majority of its power on the 12V rail(s). So with a modern, quality, PSU, a 500W PSU would be plenty for nearly any single GPU setup and some overclocking.
 
OP
T

Trivium

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
Yeah I plan on changing the PSU as soon as I can, and the BIOS is updated.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Sorry, didn't answer the rest.... :)

Yes, voltage is fine (we say to stay below 1.4V or so for 24/7). Keep temps under 90C while stress testing.

As far as why it wont change, I am not sure. But it is a budget board on the H81 chipeset which is not really made for overclocking.
 
OP
T

Trivium

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
Well I was talking with the owner of the shop who built the pc for me and he basicaly gave me the same answer, and I'm happy with the temps now, the 1.240v made a big difference, from 70ish 80ish to 60ish degrees.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Host the pictures here...3rd party pictures will go away after time. ;)

... also, if you press f12 with a USB stick in your PC, it saves the picture so you don't have a terribly fuzzy Screencast from 1990s.. see how it says so at the bottom of the screen in the bios?? ;)

Anyway, it's already obvious he can increase the multiplier... look at the first post wingman. How do you think he reached 4.5 :)
 
OP
T

Trivium

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
I had no idea about that haha, will do that next time, thanks!
And yeah, I'm runing at 4.5 atm so xD
 
OP
T

Trivium

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
Yeah I'm starting to think that too, I've seen people saying they can't go higher than 4.2 and even 4.0, and I can with very good temps and stability. I reckon I can go higher but I think it won't make much difference, for what I've seen, 4.5Ghz is the optimal value.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
http://prntscr.com/aq1aqj
http://prntscr.com/aq1b7g
Let me know if you can read it, I'm not quite sure what the multiplier is.

The multiplier is how you make the CPU go faster. At 4.0 ghz the multiplier is 40x. At 4.5 ghz it is 45x. If you want the CPU to go faster than it now is you will need to increase the multiplier. If you do, there is a chance the motherboard will automatically increase the CPU core voltage for you to support the faster speed.
 
OP
T

Trivium

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
The multiplier is how you make the CPU go faster. At 4.0 ghz the multiplier is 40x. At 4.5 ghz it is 45x. If you want the CPU to go faster than it now is you will need to increase the multiplier. If you do, there is a chance the motherboard will automatically increase the CPU core voltage for you to support the faster speed.

At first I let the motherboard increase the voltage, but at 4.5 it increased it to 1.370ish, it was stable but I was getting max temps of 80 degrees, so I lowered the voltage to 1.274 and now the max is about 70 degrees and still stable.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
4.5 ghz is about the limit anyway of most of those CPUs on air cooling with reasonable voltage. When the G3258s first started coming out people were commonly overclocking them to 4.7-4.8 and some folks were reporting overclocks of 5.0 ghz on air. But then it seemed Intel changed something in the manufacturing process and folks weren't getting those high overclocks very often any longer. 4.4-4.5 became the norm. Maybe Intel began using an inferior grade of silicon. But still they are a very fun CPU to work with and amazingly capable for the price.
 
Last edited:

wingman99

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Intel probably increased production speed of Integrated Circuit due to demand and lowered the tolerance in production limits.