• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Please Help a newbie...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ottoman

hey guys I'm a Newbie at this overclocking stuff...

been snooping around , gotta couple questions,
first of all my system is:
bought a little over a year ago
MS6195 MOBO,
athlon 650
128 mb ram pc100
32mb Geforce DDR, (creative annihaltor pro)
IBM 20 gb @7200,
SBlive mp3+
Acer Cdrw +50x cdrom,
It's packed in a full tower..
wanna ask how u think my OC potential is,

but i was lookin at my BIOS,
the F***in cpu temp is hovering around 59-60 C
and it's not oc'ed, my cpu freq is 100mhz, and voltage is 1.60 v
and from my breif look around, 60 I think is too high..

my room is pretty warm now in the summer,

I had the side of the case of hoping for more air,
but someone told me to close it, cuz it better for circulation and convection,

any tips gentlemen? thanx..

Hi Guy, You really should watch your language as we have kids checking in here. Your system looks pretty potent to me. You don't say what type of cooling you have, let us know. I would say cooling is probably the most limiting factor in any system.

My first thought is to advise you to get the temps down. You should have some room in that tower to mount a fan or two. You will have to play around a bit to find what works best for you. (ie. blowing in-out )
Second you might look at the heatsink / cpu and check out the status of the thermal paste. Try reapplying it per article's listed here. Maybe try some arctic silver.
If you are running a oem / stock heatsink-fan combo you might want to look into a better set-up.