• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Please help with new build :)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TwinEgo

ok, firstly I am experienced in putting together pc's so this isn't new to me, so don't worry about that but what I do really need help with is choosing the components. It feels like at the moment there is so much more available within set price/desired ranges than ever before.

I am a student, and in true student style I have far to much time on my hands... thus I am a gaming fanatic. So this system needs to keep me going for a while, and just to give you an idea of hardware demands that I'll need these are some of the games I play heavily at the moment:

• Battlefield Bad Company 2
  • Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
  • Supreme Commander 2
  • Just Cause 2
  • WoW (Yep still addicted to that one)
  • Left4Dead etc...

I'd like to be able to continue playing these all at high settings on my current resolution 1680x1050 (although in a few months I will be upgrading my monitor to an LED BenQ 23.5" @ 1920x1080).

My current hardware is:

• AMD Phenom x 4 940BE @ 3.2ghz
  • Foxconn mobo (sorry can't remember model)
  • OCZ Platinum 4gb DDR2 ram
  • Samsung F1 Spinpoint 320gb
  • XFX 4850 @ 725/1130
  • Generic, truly god awful PSU 650w

The above system is going to my g/f who is selling my old Q6600 as there is still a market for it on ebay =/ So I want a system that is a step up from that.

I should mention I am from the UK and the absolute limit is between £650-700 to spend, Ideally between £600-650.

There are a few sites in the UK we use widely:

Ebuyer
Aria
Overclockers
Scan

Using ebuyer I have compiled this build for £593.21:
  • AMD Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition 3.1GHz 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 Retail Boxed Processor