• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Please someone help me!! Partition table messed up! Must fix! Data important! AHH!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

soundfx4

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Location
Roanoke, VA
Please someone help me!! Partition table messed up! Must fix! Data important! AHH!

Ok, well I have this problem with my hard drive. My NTFS partition table is totally screwed up. I mean the data is still there, but the table is messed up so bad that it doesn't know what it is, where it starts, where it ends, what sector its on. It just knows there is 29 gigs there but unaccessable. Anyway to go into a bit more detail, I was using Parition magic (the emergency floppy part of it) to convert a Fat32 partition to an NTFS, and to resize another partition to take up some unallocated space, and right in the middle it frooze. My hard drive stoped scratching and the total percent didn't go up. It just stoped. At that moment I knew it was screwed. At least for a while. Anyway, my hunt for information to save my HD has begun. I really don't know what to do. I read somewhere something about deleting the partition, and then creating an unformatted partition on that would work. Or something to that effect. but I don't want to risk messing it up any more because I know my data is still on there, I can even see it will some recovery programs I tried (that didn't work btw). Anyway, here are some pictures of my hard drive setup. After all a picture's worth a thousand words.



__hr_HDP.jpg



__hr_HDP2.jpg
 
Last edited:

Xaotic

Very kind Senior
Joined
Mar 13, 2002
Location
Greensboro NC
This might help, but it does state that only early NTFS support is available(which I would read as NTFS 4 for NT). Worth a shot in any event.

http://home.arcor.de/christian_grau/rescue/

It will be able to deal with FAT16/32 information and hopefully the conversion was not far along and it'll be able to recover most or all of the data.
 

h2k

Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
Vancouver, Canada
Ok, the same thing happened to me. I was converting a partition and my computer froze part way through. You have to reboot and let the conversion process start again. When mine finished, it was still inacessible. However, after doing a little searching on the cd, I found something called PTEDIT32.EXE. It allowed me to manually change the partition type from FF (Xenix Bad Block Table) to Fat32. I would have to imagine that the same procedure may work for you.
 

Maximus Nickus

Senior Shaman
Joined
Oct 4, 2001
Location
Milton Keynes, U.K.
Boot with a Boot-disk, (go Here for one) and then type at the C: prompt:

mbr /r
or
repair/ mbr

This will repair your Master Boot Record. It should solve your problems.
If you cannot access the disk, then try booting from another HDD and then running scandisk.


Good Luck,
M_N
 
OP
soundfx4

soundfx4

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Location
Roanoke, VA
h2k said:
Ok, the same thing happened to me. I was converting a partition and my computer froze part way through. You have to reboot and let the conversion process start again. When mine finished, it was still inacessible. However, after doing a little searching on the cd, I found something called PTEDIT32.EXE. It allowed me to manually change the partition type from FF (Xenix Bad Block Table) to Fat32. I would have to imagine that the same procedure may work for you.




THAT IS ITT!!! I have to edit it manually!!! Ok, I found the edit program, but I don't have a clue how to change it. Can someone send a link with instructions or something. Or maybe explain it in the post? Thanks!!
 

h2k

Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
Vancouver, Canada
Basically you need to double click in the type column. You can just select the right file system from the list.
Make sure you make a note of the original. It will take some trial and error. My other partition was located in the EPBR, and I had to specify the type in there.
 

DS

Registered
Joined
Dec 22, 2000
Location
TX
Since you have PM buy another HDD and make a copy of it using PM. Believe me this will save you headaches (like the one you just encountered) down the road. The copy it makes is bootable.
 

Wonko The Sane

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Location
Port Richey, FL
I also had the same thing happen to me (PM froze during resize). I used linux fdisk (DOS fdisk won't do this) to change the partition type. I don't remember the exact comands, but there should be a help option (either m or ? i think) and that will list the comand for changing the partitoin type. once you're in the comand and it asks what type you want, you can press l to get a list of the different types. you may want to try both NTFS and fat 32 to get as much as possible back (you probably won't be able to get everything, but you should get most of your data).
 
OP
soundfx4

soundfx4

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Location
Roanoke, VA
DS said:
Since you have PM buy another HDD and make a copy of it using PM. Believe me this will save you headaches (like the one you just encountered) down the road. The copy it makes is bootable.


I have another HDD, but the only options I have for that partition are delete, format, info, and set active. I can't copy it :(
 
OP
soundfx4

soundfx4

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Location
Roanoke, VA
Oopps, I forgot to inculde a very important detail. Ok, The conversion completed sucsessfully. In fact that is the partition I am using right now to write this. It is the one that I was resizing that is screwed up. I thought I put that in there. Oh well.


Thanks!
 

DS

Registered
Joined
Dec 22, 2000
Location
TX
Were you trying to resize a compressed partition?Problems can occur trying to resize a compressed partition. Decompress partitions before resizing. I don't know if that is what you were doing,just thought I would give this tip.
 

DS

Registered
Joined
Dec 22, 2000
Location
TX
I got this from the PM help file:
PqRP Partitions

If your computer fails during a PartitionMagic operation, you may see a partition that displays as PqRP or PQFLEX in the partition list in the main screen. PartitionMagic flags a partition with a PqRP file system and a PQFLEX label, so you know that the partition has been modified. You should assume that a PqRP partition is not stable. Contact PowerQuest technical support for help in recovering data from a PqRP partition.
 
OP
soundfx4

soundfx4

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Location
Roanoke, VA
DS said:
I got this from the PM help file:
PqRP Partitions

If your computer fails during a PartitionMagic operation, you may see a partition that displays as PqRP or PQFLEX in the partition list in the main screen. PartitionMagic flags a partition with a PqRP file system and a PQFLEX label, so you know that the partition has been modified. You should assume that a PqRP partition is not stable. Contact PowerQuest technical support for help in recovering data from a PqRP partition.


Naw, it was decompressed, I don't use the NTFS File compress option. I was just reading on the Partition edit thing, and PqRP stands for Power Quest Recoverable Partition! I hope powerquest has an 800 number. Thanks!