• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Power supply holding me back?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Icarus

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Location
USA
The hardware monitor on my IC7 keeps on telling me that my 3.3v line is unstable. I just ordered a 430w Antec Truepower from Newegg today (the one that I'm using now is a 400w generic). Could this be the reason why my SL6RZ Costa Rica 2003 week 9 is only doing 3.1ghz? What does the 3.3v line control?
 

micamica1217

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Icarus said:
The hardware monitor on my IC7 keeps on telling me that my 3.3v line is unstable. I just ordered a 430w Antec Truepower from Newegg today (the one that I'm using now is a 400w generic). Could this be the reason why my SL6RZ Costa Rica 2003 week 9 is only doing 3.1ghz? What does the 3.3v line control?

I'm wondering what all your other rails are like at idle and full lode.

if you can list your

cpu
mem
3.3v
5v
12v

maybe we can see....

mica
 
OP
I

Icarus

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Location
USA
I can tell you what my loads are at idle but how do I check it while its at full load? what program should I run?
 

micamica1217

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Icarus said:
I can tell you what my loads are at idle but how do I check it while its at full load? what program should I run?

prime95-torture test, sandra-burn in, folding, seti.....any of thies are fine.

and you will see the hardware doc...while they do the work.

mica
 
OP
I

Icarus

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Location
USA
No Load:
vcore: 1.50v
RAM: 2.62v
+3.3v: 3.34v
+5v: 5.22v
+12v: 11.92v

Under Load (15min. into Prime95)
Vcore: 1.49v
RAM: 2.62v
+3.3v: 3.33v ~ 3.38v
+5v: 5.22v
+12v: 11.74 ~ 11.8v
 
OP
I

Icarus

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Location
USA
by the way, I've downclocked my CPU to 2.52ghz (1.5v vcore) for this.
 

micamica1217

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
12v line seems to dip a little...yet not real bad.

try OCing a little higher just to see if it dips more.

if it does, then maybe a better PSU will help....yet I'm thinking you'll still be OK.

retry, and let's see.

btw, your 3.3v line is great...np.

mica
 
OP
I

Icarus

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Location
USA
Hmm. why does the hardware monitor keep on poping up during games telling me that the the 3.33v is going too high?

anyway, I've already ordered an Antec 430w true power. Hopefully, that will fix the problem.
 

micamica1217

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Icarus said:
Hmm. why does the hardware monitor keep on poping up during games telling me that the the 3.33v is going too high?

anyway, I've already ordered an Antec 430w true power. Hopefully, that will fix the problem.

just click on settings and turn it off or raise the setting on the 3.3v line

mica