• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Powering A Pelt

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

customrig

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2002
Location
Wethersfield, CT
I am going to need to power a 120 watt peltier and maybe some fans in the near future and I was wondering if someone could direct me to a good site for an industrial power supply that I could use to run everything. I used to have a link to a site that sold a good p/s for 50 bucks but I lost it so any help would be great.

Thanks
 

Darrenct

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2002
Location
Coeur d'Alene (North Idaho)
Well, Find out how many amps that 120 Watt is pulling. Most of them only pull 11 or 12 amps max. That could be powered by any good 400 watt PSU or better. That would save you money, and installation work.
 

Diggrr

Underwater Senior Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
If it's a 12 volt pelt, here's a link so generously provided by Hoot a while back.

There's also www.peaktopeakpower.com .

Happy hunting.

Hey Darrenct, I knew someone from Coeur d'Alene, An Army Captain named Jack Hamilton. He said his parents still live there too, though that was 15 years ago....small world.
 

Darrenct

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2002
Location
Coeur d'Alene (North Idaho)
Diggrr said:
If it's a 12 volt pelt, here's Hey Darrenct, I knew someone from Coeur d'Alene, An Army Captain named Jack Hamilton. He said his parents still live there too, though that was 15 years ago....small world.

That's cool, not very many people live here. Kinda surprising to me... I can't see why someone wouldn't want to live here:
aerial.jpg
 
Last edited:

JoeCrappa

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2001
Location
Union City, CA
say if i were to power a 220w tec...would it be equivalent to the same power consumption as another computer? i just don't want to end up paying a crap load for the power bill if i do a pelt.
 

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
I'm on a different computer so I don't have access to my standard pelt PSU links. I sent them to Danger Den a while back and you can find them posted here.
 

Darrenct

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2002
Location
Coeur d'Alene (North Idaho)
JoeCrappa said:
say if i were to power a 220w tec...would it be equivalent to the same power consumption as another computer? i just don't want to end up paying a crap load for the power bill if i do a pelt.

The Wattage rating on a pelt is an indicator of heat transfered, not of power consumpion.

To find out how many Watts of power will be used by a pelt, take the voltage you will be giving the pelt, and multiply it by the amps that it draws.