• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Powerleap?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

noble

Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2002
Location
Tampere, Finland
Hi, I've been thinking about upgrading my processor and came by this site http://www.powerleap.com/Products/iP3T.htm and I'm thinking this is the right thing for my computer. But (once again) I need a little help, I found a site that sell's these thing's in finland, but without the processor.. I'll have to get that from somewhere else, the price tag on the powerleap is 45 € (pretty much same in USD, give or take a dollar).
The maximum FBS my mobo supports is 100 FBS, so how fast and what type of processor should I get? I was hoping I could get at least 1.2 GHz Pentium or Celeron.

Thanks (once again) for your help!
 

KLowD9x

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Location
Lugoff, SC
Thats a bit expensive for an upgrade...I wouldnt get it. I suggest getting http://www.vitalitycomputer.com/amdcombokit6.html <--that. For 30 dollars more, you get a new motherboard, a processor (which is retail, so if you dont have a HSF it comes with that), the only problem is you need DDR ram. But, DDR is worth it.

If you really want an Intel or dont want to get more memory, you could go with http://www.vitalitycomputer.com/combo1.html <--this. I dont recommend it, its a Celeron, and ive heard theyre no good.

In my personal experience I would suggest going with the AMD kit. DDR from the same site isnt too expensive, but you could also check www.pricewatch.com for some even lower prices on all of those products.

--KLowD9x
 

funnyperson1

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2001
the tualatins are good processors but i agree with Klowd in that it would probably be smarter to get an AMD/mobo combo for the same price...

with the system in my sig i can compete with 1800+s for ALU and MIPS, but the lack of memory bandwith and low fsb (comparitively) leave me crippled in real world performance....
 

KLowD9x

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Location
Lugoff, SC
funnyperson1 said:
the tualatins are good processors but i agree with Klowd in that it would probably be smarter to get an AMD/mobo combo for the same price...

with the system in my sig i can compete with 1800+s for ALU and MIPS, but the lack of memory bandwith and low fsb (comparitively) leave me crippled in real world performance....

Same here :rolleyes: I cant wait till I get my new AMD rig built. 2400+ or more, that is going to be so nice.:cool:
 
OP
noble

noble

Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2002
Location
Tampere, Finland
I think I'll be going with the powerleap all the same, I bet those sites are great, but if I order something outside of EU it's gonna cost me a pretty penny in taxes and other unnecessary fees.. :(
On the other hand, I can order that powerleap from http://www.verkkokauppa.com with a celeron 1.2 GHz prosessor. And if I don't get my mobo to work with it, I'll get another one from a finnish net auction .
So I guess it'll be allright, even if a little expensive I think it's worth it! :cool:
 
OP
noble

noble

Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2002
Location
Tampere, Finland
forget my last post.. I'm still considering what to do, but I will most likely get a new mobo and processor.
 

Captain Slug

Helpful Senior Member
Joined
May 23, 2001
Location
Asteroid B-612
noble said:
forget my last post.. I'm still considering what to do, but I will most likely get a new mobo and processor.

That's the best option. Powerleap upgrades are pricy and you can't be garaunteed that they'll work without a BIOS flash or a headache. I bought one and it took me 2 months to install it, it cost twice as much as buying a new motherboard and CPU, and I had to flash the BIOS three times for it to be recognized.
Avoid them whenever possible.
 
OP
noble

noble

Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2002
Location
Tampere, Finland
Ok, thanks for the warning. I'm getting a pentium III 550 MHz processor and a mobo for now (I'm on a low budget). But later on I'm getting a totally new rig! =)