• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Prescott overclocking questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

z0n3

Hi, after reading posts on the forums for about a year now I feel very confident in the fact that overclocking for me is the way to go to better system performance but I have a few questions first so I dont screw it up as is my trend. I did searches and reread articles many times but Im still confused abit on some things as Im still very new to overclocking and all things associated with it. Sorry if these questions have been asked before but I kept getting 8+ page long threads pop up when I did searches and thats a little to much reading for my taste.

What are the Prescott multipliers?( I know what mulipliers are I need numbers)
What are steppings, and what are good steppings?
At what FSB should I start to change the voltage?
Does the ram overclock itself when I set a ratio?
What is prime? Where can I get it?( Its a program for checking system stability right? or am I thinking of something else?)
What programs do I need to overclock safely and efficiently?Where do I get them?
Will they have 64 bit compatible prescotts that are socket 478?
What are the differences between Prescotts?( I keep hereing stuff like " :clap: Yeah D-0 Prescottttts is r0x0r,LOL :santa: " and "SL88B are screamers :drool: ")*

Im sure I can think of more tidbits that I need/ want to know.

*NOT actual quotes just examples of what it sounds like to me, poor grammer and smilies however... Well, thats a different story.

Last edited:
As a beginner, you might seriously think about trying a Northwood first since they run cooler and don't require as much hardcore cooling.

Prescott multipliers for socket 478 are: 2.4A=18X, 2.8A=21X, 2.8E=14X, 3.0E=15X, 3.2E=16X, and 3.4E=17X.