• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Pressure Guage

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Big_Baller

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
Hey I was wondering what all of you guys use to measure the pressuge in your water lines? I basicly want a guage to tell me if my pump fails ( my lines are insulated and my res and underwater pump are in the fridge) so I wouldnt want my pump dieing and me not realizing it untill its too late. What could I do short of checking the fridge?
 

Skulemate

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Location
Toronto, Canada
I used to use a pressure gauge I bought from a pool supply store... read to 15 psi, which was perfect for my pump. I think that the problem you'll have is finding one that can read pressures low enough to be suitable, and with enough resolution (i.e. 100 psi max with 2 psi divisions isn't going to be any good).
 

Since87

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2002
Location
Indiana
What's going to happen if you are not watching the pressure gauge when the pump fails?

You can get a thermal switch and mount it to the side of your waterblock.

Splice the switch into the green wire on the ATX power supply, It will kill power when the WB gets above say 45 degrees.

Search Digi-Key for part # 317-1080-ND.
 
OP
Big_Baller

Big_Baller

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
Hey awsome Idea. I will get that soon. Thx alot. That is exactly what I wanted. but Is the temp cutoff adjestable? or is it just perm set at 45 degrees? that is pretty cool compaired to actually cpu damage but I think my block shouldnt be that hot with my new setup.
 

Since87

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2002
Location
Indiana
Can O' Beans said:
All the common thermal switched I've seen are set at a certain temperature to switch at.

Yes, they come in a fairly wide range of switching temperatures.

Here is the digikey catalog page.

It would be best to measure the waterblock temperature when the CPU has been loaded heavily for over an hour. Then pick a switch that is rated 10C to 20C higher than that. Add in a adjustment for ambient temperature fluctuation though. (If the room might be 10C hotter than it is when the waterblock temp is measured - add 10C to the switch trip point.)
 

Since87

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2002
Location
Indiana
reread the initial post.

I don't suppose ambient temperature has much effect on your system BB.

Have you noticed any?
 
OP
Big_Baller

Big_Baller

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
Well I should be hooking my system up today. I dont belive that ambient temps do much to me butI will check it out.