• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Problems up the butt with Abit KT7A-Raid and win2k

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

supertunger99

Registered
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
I'm having problems with the Abit KT7A-RAID and win2k up the butt.

Here was my old setup:
ID1: Plextor 16/10/40A
ID2: Pioneer DVD-105s DVD-ROM
ID3: Maxtor 30gb Hard drive
ID4: Empty

I have been using VIA 4in1 v4.29 and this is what happens. First I install win2k, everything appears to work fine. But then all of a sudden a day or two later when I boot my computer back up I get this exact error message:

Stop: C0000218 {Registry File Failure}
The registry cannot load the hive (file):
systemroot\system32\config\SOFTWARE
or its log or alternate
It's corrupt, absent, or not writable.

Then I can never again boot win2k back up. It has happened to me 3 times already. Same error over and over again. I want to crack mobo in two and sent one half back to the Abit CEO and the other half to the store i bought it from.

This is what I've done in order to get win2k running. I changed my setup:
ID1: Maxtor 30gb Hard drive
ID2: Pioneer DVD-105s DVD-ROM
ID3: Plextor 16/10/40A
ID4: Empty

This way I don't install the OS on the highpoint controller. It's running good so far.

But I was planning to buy another 30gb hard drive and do a raid later. I was wondering if anyone out there has gotten a raid setup to work with -->> win2k <<--. If so, please post a reply with your setup, which Via drivers you use, and how you got the it working.
 
OP
S

supertunger99

Registered
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
No one out there has gotten the Abit KT7A-Raid mobo with win2k with a raid 0 setup working?!?
 

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Have you tried searching Microsoft's site for issues with this stop?
 

Eriksson

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Iceland
I am running both Abit KT7-R and Abit KT7A-R in Raid 0 under win2000 pro. VIA drivers do not matter, ie any I have tried worked fine.

Did you press the F6 button in the beginning of win2000 install to install the hp370 driver ?

My config is..
IDE 1= DVD
IDE 2= CDRW
IDE 3= IBM ATA 100
IDE 4= IBM ATA 100

AND
IDE 1= empty
IDE 2= empty
IDE 3= Pioneer 16x DVD (works fine except I cannot boot from it)
IDE 4= IBM ATA 100

This is the current setup, I have tried many drives, OS and setups, the HP 370 controller has never been giving me any problems
 
OP
S

supertunger99

Registered
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Colin-
I just tried searching the microsoft website. I couldn't find jack. Or is it? I found jack. Anyways, didn't find anything there = (.

Eriksson-
It's really nice to hear that someone has gotten the raid 0 configuration to work with win2k! = ). I cant believe that you have never had any problems whatsoever with the highpoint raid controller!

My friend has SA6R 815EP mobo, this board is an PIII mobo with the same highpoint controller we have on our Abit KT7A-RAID. He got the same error message as me a few days ago too! He has elected to do the same thing as me and run his hard drive on the IDE1 channel. Both our win2k are running really stable with this config.

I notice that you never mentioned putting the hard drive on the IDE3 channel. That's where both my friend and I put our hard drives. Nevertheless, It won't matter much longer as I'm going to go raid soon. Thanks eriksson for your reply! I think I'm going to try raid out now. There seems to be less problems with that than running one single hard drive.
 
OP
S

supertunger99

Registered
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Wow, thanks. I didn't think to search of that. Sorry, I didn't know. I searched for Abit Highpoint controller and highpoint controller and ata 100 and stuff like that. Thanks, Im gonna go check out the info now.
 

itchiban

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2001
Do you have the right drivers for your Highpoint 370 ?, drivers should be named the same as bios...
 

tbrko

Registered
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Please excuse my ignorence, but I am having the same problems. In trying to install win2k it cannot seem to locate any mass sorage devices, even though I believe that I have my raid-o configuation correct.
My silly question is that I have not attempted to install the highpoint drivers. They seem to be located on a cd-rom. Do i need to transfer the drivers to a floppy and then install using the F6 key? Does the floppy have to be a system disk?
Thanks for any assistance.
 

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
When you install Win2K, watch the screen. During the initial phase of installation you be asked if you want to install optional SCSI or RAID controllers. You need to hit F6 to reply. You have about 8 to 10 seconds to do this. Later during the installation you will be prompted twice for the RAID drivers. The Hot Rod 100 Pro floppy that came with your board has the Highpoint drivers.
 
OP
S

supertunger99

Registered
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
itchiban-
Yes, I do have the most recent bios and they correspond to my motherboard bios.

tbrko-
Yea, there's the drivers for the raid controller are also included on a floppy in your motherboard box. It says hot rod on it.
 

tbrko

Registered
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
supertunger99 (Apr 08, 2001 04:16 a.m.):
I'm having problems with the Abit KT7A-RAID and win2k up the butt. ... First I install win2k, everything appears to work fine. But then all of a sudden a day or two later when I boot my computer back up I get this exact error message:

Stop: C0000218 {Registry File Failure}
The registry cannot load the hive (file):
systemroot\system32\config\SOFTWARE
or its log or alternate
It's corrupt, absent, or not writable.

Then I can never again boot win2k back up.

I am reviving this post because the same thing has now happened to me and I need to fix it. Win2k was running fine for a day or so, then on one bootup, I get the same "hive" message! What gives?
My set up is:
IDE1: DVD
IDE2: Empty
IDE3: WD 40gb
IED4: WD 40gb
Set up with Raid 0.
Any suggestions?
 
OP
S

supertunger99

Registered
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
tbrko-
Ahhh! Great! That's encouraging news when I'm about to buy another hard drive and do raid 0.

But its good to know that Im not alone = ). Please, if anyone how there knows how to remedy this problem please post.

Here's the summary of the problem again. I install win2k with the hard drive on the highpoint raid controller and everything runs perfectly fine, but a day or two later it crashes on me, not even letting me boot win2k up. Instead I get this evil message, yes its evil! :
Stop: C0000218 {Registry File Failure}
The registry cannot load the hive (file):
systemroot\system32\config\SOFTWARE
or its log or alternate
It's corrupt, absent, or not writable.