• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Problems with HDD Partitions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

foxmulder

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Location
Seattle,WA
I'm having huge problems reading out a second HDD. It's partitoned into a C: and D. drive but when I put it in my Computer (secondary IDE) It only recognizes one of the partitions I don't want to reformat as I only want to copy some files from one HDD to another. I'm rather flustered

Pleeeeze Help

THX


Oh Yeah I'm using Win XP
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Did you format both partitions?

When you fdisked - make sure you made a primary and an extended and made a logical drive inside the extended one.
 
OP
F

foxmulder

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Location
Seattle,WA
I didn't use FDISK, it isn't even my HDD. It's out of a friends computer. All I know is that it's running Win XP and it'S probably FAT 32
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Ok. What are you trying to do. How are the hard disks set up. What is the problem. What error messages do you get?
 
OP
F

foxmulder

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Location
Seattle,WA
I don't get an error message. the HDD is physically on the secondary IDE channel. It's a 40 Gig Disk partitioned into two 20 Gig drives however only one of them is visible under windows
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
foxmulder said:
I don't get an error message. the HDD is physically on the secondary IDE channel. It's a 40 Gig Disk partitioned into two 20 Gig drives however only one of them is visible under windows

Try running fdisk on that drive and choose number 4 - view partition information.

What does it say?
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
foxmulder said:
I feel kinda stupid saying this but I don't even use Fdisk. Do I DL it somewhere or what?

It should come w/ windows.
*slaps forehead*
doh. You use XP. Much easier.

Go to control panel and admin tools. Select 'Computer Management'. Look down the left and select disk management. Click on the relevant drive in the top window on the right. there is your partition info.

PS is it XP Home or Pro.
 
OP
F

foxmulder

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Location
Seattle,WA
OK now I can see it but what do I do so I can explore it?

seems to be working fine


Oh and I'm using XP Pro
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
foxmulder said:
OK now I can see it but what do I do so I can explore it?

seems to be working fine


Oh and I'm using XP Pro

What info does Computer management display ie does it show two partitions?

See the example below, for the drive there should be two 'healthy' partitions.
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
foxmulder said:
OK Thanks so much for your Help, I got it

YEEEES


OC.com Rulez

People always manage to fix their problems while I am typing up an answer :rolleyes: