• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Problems with voltage of 12v in a7n8xe- dlx

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BBruce

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
The line of 12v in asusprobe is showing 12,8v in ide and sometimes 12,98 with extress, one time it showed 13,1V.

I need to know if somebody is having the same problem with this motherboard????

I know that asusprobe is not much correct but 13,1 is a very high voltage...
 
OP
B

BBruce

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
By now i only used software, but i am looking for a multimeter.
 
OP
B

BBruce

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
I used the software that comes with asus, and the bios showed the same results.
 
OP
B

BBruce

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
High Voltage

I want to know if some person is having the same problem that i am with asus a7n8x-e deluxe!?


Thanks
 

MisterEd

Member
Joined
May 10, 2004
Location
Alabama
The ATX power supply specification says:

Output: + 12VDC
Range: +/- 5%
Min. : +11.40
Nom.: +12.00
Max.: +12.60
Unit: Volts

But the specification also says:

At +12 VDC peak loading, regulation at the +12 VDC output can go to ± 10%.

Output: + 12VDC
Range: +/- 10%
Min. : +10.80
Nom.: +12.00
Max.: +13.20
Unit: Volts

If your power supply is highly loaded then it could go as high as you say and still be in spec. It could also just be a cheap power supply. In cany case if these reading are accurate then you are at the upper limit of the ATX spec. Only a good digital voltmeter will allow you to confirm this.
 
OP
B

BBruce

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
MisterEd said:
The ATX power supply specification says:

Output: + 12VDC
Range: +/- 5%
Min. : +11.40
Nom.: +12.00
Max.: +12.60
Unit: Volts

But the specification also says:

At +12 VDC peak loading, regulation at the +12 VDC output can go to ± 10%.

Output: + 12VDC
Range: +/- 10%
Min. : +10.80
Nom.: +12.00
Max.: +13.20
Unit: Volts

If your power supply is highly loaded then it could go as high as you say and still be in spec. It could also just be a cheap power supply. In cany case if these reading are accurate then you are at the upper limit of the ATX spec. Only a good digital voltmeter will allow you to confirm this.


But if i still using my cheap psu, can i have some problem with my computer???
 

MastarPete

Member
hmm..
would help if you could post the Brand and model of your PSU

I've got an Enermax EG465P-VE 430watt PSU
Motherboard Monitor/Web Temp shows my 12v rail hovering between 11.8 and 11.92, currently 11.8.
yet my Digital Doc 5+ (drive bay fan controller) and Asus PC Probe show 12.47v
and to be thorough, my multimeter confirms the volts reported by Digi Doc and PC Probe...

at the very least try getting the latest version of PC Probe in the tools section
and maybe even update your bios

or if you want to try Motherboard Monitor
then use WebTemp to log/graph your voltages for a few days.
just make sure you disable Asus Probe so it doesn't interfere. (you'll know when it does;))

if all that just confirms the high 12v rail, and you're uncomfortable with it, start looking into getting a better PSU.
I'm sure you'll find some helpfull info in the Cases and Power Supplies section ;)
 
OP
B

BBruce

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Now i used a multimeter and when the software shows +12,92 - in the true was 12,72 and where the software showed 13,12(prime95) in the true is 12,94. I can´t find the Brand and model of my PSU, but now i know that i need to buy a new psu. How could be the best in 12v ??



Thanks
 
OP
B

BBruce

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
What is the best PSU to use with A7n8x-e deluxe?

I am seaching for a new psu, because this i would like to know the output voltage of someone that have a good psu and yhe same mother board.

I want to buy a psu that the voltages output can go only ± 5%
 
OP
B

BBruce

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Steelpuma said:
I've got a cheap PSU
12v @ 12.6v
5v @ 4.9v
3.3v @ 3.2v
Vcore @ 0.013 higher than whatever I set it to.

Your results are not bad, but you used a software or a multimeter to read it?
 

MastarPete

Member
Enermax is a pretty good brand..

mine is rated...
[email protected](A)mps
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]

+3.3v & +5v = 220W max
Total power = 431W
- - - - - - - - - - -
currently via multimeter...
[email protected] 12.46v .. at both idle and full load
[email protected] 5.12v .. at both idle and full load
[email protected] 3.44v .. at both idle and full load

I'm not exactly sure where to measure vcore so I'm using Asus Probe..
vCore [email protected] 1.74~1.92v
*Asus boards have been known to slightly over-volt the CPU*

for a change Motherboard monitor is confirming my multimeter results +/- 0.15v for 12v, 5v, 3.3v... vCore is pretty much constant at 1.78v

[Edit: I just realised MBM was slightly mis-configured before. now it definitely confirms my multimeter readings]

the fact that there's no change between idle and load shows I'm not close to my supply's max load.

aside from the hardware in my sig..
1x 70mm cpu fan, 2x 7200rpm 120gb HDs (IBM, Seagate).
3x 80mm Case fans (Coolermater, Panaflo, generic).
Linksys pci lan card
2x Lite-On optical drives 52x24x52 burner and 16x DVD-rom (both idle during measure)
audigy drive bay thing.
Digital doc fan controller.
1x 40mm fan and the AMD fan that came with my CPU (on back of vid card).
No lighting
..pretty much a full system.

@BBruce
seeing as your voltage changes under load/no load. you might be better off getting a better supply.
especially if it doesn't have a fan on the bottom to pull air from above the CPU, while also cooling the CPU a bit more it brings more air over the power regulators' heatsink.

about the only thing you'd really notice would be system stability issues with your current PSU.
so if you're having any now, they may get partially resolved with a good supply.

@Steelpuma
if that's your volts via a multimeter, you've got a decent PSU, or at least one that's not close to being overloaded.
are those volts measured at Idle or under load or both?
 
Last edited:
OP
B

BBruce

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Enermax

MastarPete do you know how much cost a psu like yours(Enermax EG465P-VE 430)? Where i can buy here on the internet?



Thanks