• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Progress of HTPC/LAN rig

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

{PMS}fishy

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Well here are the makings of my HTPC/Lan rig. Specs are AMD T-bird 1.4, 512mb of SDRAM, Matxor 60gig, Segate 2gig, Slim DVD, and either a radeon 7000 or Geforce 4 MX420.

Lan3.JPG


Here is the case with my custom HDD mount. The Maxtor goes underneath and the Segate on top.

Lan4.JPG


DVD Window

Lan1.jpg


HDD Window

Lan2.JPG
 
OP
{PMS}fishy

{PMS}fishy

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Kaneda, in the classifides. Its an IBM netvista. look on Ebay.
 
OP
{PMS}fishy

{PMS}fishy

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Im trying I have been working on it for 3 days now and thats as far as I have gotten. im still trying to figure out the PSU thing. Im thinking of externally mounted. I would need some 40 pin 9give or take few pins) male/female connectors if anyone knows where to get those.
 

Captain Slug

Helpful Senior Member
Joined
May 23, 2001
Location
Asteroid B-612
The easiest way to do an external PSU is to buy an ATX extension cable and cut a port in the back of the case for it. That's what I did for my first LAN RIG and it allowed me to use different power supplies without having to modify the case when I needed to swap.

But there are TFX12V options available that wil work fin inside your case. I'm almost done with my new LAN rig, I'm just adding the finishing touches here and there.
 
OP
{PMS}fishy

{PMS}fishy

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Don't worry I will. I plan a window mod and I just made a faux wood cover for the front reducing 2" off the origonal design of the case. Paint and a PSU and I am basically done. All I am waiting for is a video card and I can then install all of the components.
 

Captain Slug

Helpful Senior Member
Joined
May 23, 2001
Location
Asteroid B-612
Here's a helpful hint...

NO MATTER WHAT, NEVER PUT A SPEAKER IN YOUR CASE.

I put the rewired speaker from MY netvista case into my new Slim box and after using it for 2 days it ruined my Laptop CD-ROM (Arrrrrg!). Tooke me a good 5 hours to figure out that that was the only problem. It was messing up all the tranfers from the CD-ROM drive.

Now I get to build a custom shell for the aggravating speaker. :mad:
 

Captain Slug

Helpful Senior Member
Joined
May 23, 2001
Location
Asteroid B-612
Phew, it recovered. But my CPU is 3D incapable (I think that's because it's chipped) and I'm going to have to work a trade with somebody.