• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PSU wire splicing???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DoubleJ8

Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2003
Location
Bremerton, WA
I want to run my PSU about 6-8 feet away from my case and splice the wires and run them to the case (don't ask why). Is this possible? Would I lose power by running the wires this far? For the splicing, can I just use normal 18 and 20ga AWG wire? Input please!!!
 

seamadan000

Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Location
Omaha, somewhere in middle america
it seems that as long as you made good splices, and used good wire of the proper (read: same as the psu wires) gauge, you should be able to get it to work. You will lose some power, but not that much, and if the psu is of good quality it should compensate for it well enough. If you have an old system to try this out on first, that may be a good idea.

anyone else have any thoughts?
 
OP
D

DoubleJ8

Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2003
Location
Bremerton, WA
not near as cost effective as doing it myself. I'd have to buy multiple extentions to link them together, unless they make 8' extentions. I've never seen them.
 

clocker2

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Location
Mile High
I should think that the potential current loss over the additional 6 feet would be minimal compared to the loss from two extra connections( splices) in the line if you weren't careful.
If you took your time and made sure you had good contact and a decent solder job then it would probably be okay.
That's a lot of soldering to do though...
 

sramjones

Disabled
Joined
Nov 1, 2003
Location
Bronx New York
the only way power is lost is over very far areas. the resistance is much to little ebtween your 6 feet and idsay maybe 20 miles for there to be any degreaes

if u look at ur outlet and put 3 50 foot extension cords then measure it with a multimeter i garentee it will be the same as doing it right from the socket
 

Como

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
Location
Maine
i have a whole box of old PSU wires, mostly AT but a few ATX mobo headers as well...

i know we arent supposed to ask but the only benifit i can see here is iether a) you want it quiet and your psu has a noisy fanor b) you want to turn the computer on from a few feet away

if the case is A you could just open it up and swap fans, or better yet putthat fan on a 7V mod or the 5V rail

if its B you could just extend the power button wires for much less effort...

but again we arent supposed to ask...as much as i'd like to know!