• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Psuedo-advanced storage server build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Railgun

Howdy folks.

I'm looking for those that may have more first hand experience here than I in this arena. I'm a network guy by trade, not explicitly a server guy, so I defer to those that work this side of the house. I say psuedo-advanced as this isn't really advanced in the strictest sense, but perhaps is for most home builds.

I currently have a server that I built as seen in my sig. I've acquired an old storage chassis with 180TB of storage. It's got a SuperMicro X9DRX with 2x E5-2687W CPUs, the memory I've already cannibalized for my server in the sig. It has 8x LSI 9207-8i cards for handling the storage, and I have some 10g NICs that I'll be popping in.

I'm undecided if I'm going to use this as a dedicated NAS box, or migrate from my other host, which is my VM host to this. I'm also looking to potentially upgrade to an X10DRX board, with yet to be decided CPUs.

That said, the question revolves more around the storage aspect of it. I'm not intending to use all 180TB as that's just ridiculous. I'm more curious to know if there are any obvious performance advantages of the 9207 cards in this capacity vs 24 drives off a single card. While I appreciate the obviousness that is it depends on the use case, for the purposes of this discussion, let's just say there's a single pool in use with mirrored vdevs.

I'm not concerned about SPOF and the like, this is purely a performance discussion.

That said, let's say I have 24 disks. Of those 24 disks, they're split into 12 vdev mirrors. I can either load these onto the single 9305-24i, or split each vdev across three of the 9207s. So, the main question is, any benefit to one over the other here?