• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Q9550 + DDR3 OC Help Needed

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

neverwind

Registered
Hello,

I hope there's someone that could help me with my desperate attempts at getting the MAX out of my current system.
I know it's a pretty old one, but still I really love it and I don't need to upgrade to a more modern one at this time.
I guess it's safe to say I'm pretty new to overclocking, but I've been messing with the settings for a while now and the truth is it it turned out to be quite fun :)

Here's my current setup:
CPU: Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q9550 (12M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz FSB)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45T-UD3LR (Intel® P45 + ICH10R Chipset)
Memory: Kingston KHX18C9T3K2/8X

I have managed to achieve two semi-stable profiles - one with Memory @ 1800 Mhz, and one with Memory @ 1600 Mhz. Semi-stable means that they seem stable, but I haven't tested any of them long enough to be absolutely sure.

Memory 1800Mhz:
1. CPU: 3825 MHz (8.5 x 450), Core @ 1.38 V (BIOS)
2. FSB: 450, MCH Core @ 1.6 V
3. Memory: Dual Channel 1800Mhz, Timings 9-11-9-27 CR2, Motherboard Performance Level 8 @ 1.696 V

Memory 1600Mhz:
1. CPU: 4088 (8.5 x 481), Core @ 1.38 V (BIOS)
2. FSB: 481, MCH Core @ 1.6 V
3. Memory Dual Channel 1600 Mhz, Timing 9-9-9-27 CR2, Motherboard Performance Level 10 @ 1.696 V

For both profiles, at full load, CPU Temp doesn't exceed 65C (around 63C-64C, actually).
North Bridge temp is around 35C at normal operation and when gaming, goes up to around 45C (This should be because of the fact the NB is responsible for managing the PCIe2 x16 slot I guess)
I don't really know if it matters, but both profiles have the PCIe frequency set at 100Mhz.

So, I'm wondering if I could get more of my current rig?