• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

quake 4 wooo

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dan Derrig

this game is fun! I like it more than FEAR. Half Life 2 and Halo are still better story-wise. How do you like it?

Rattle

I think its sweet, better than doom3, not as good as FEAR but not by much. Beats the crap out of HL2 though and looks sweet... fun too

obsolete

**Possible spoiler**

I just started playing through the SP of it & I think it is really good. My attention was really grabbed when you become a strogg (kina). Definately makes up for the lagtastic MP of the game. (hoping for mods)

Has a story line but not a grab a bag of popcorn story line.......

ninthebin

I think it looks better than fear, has some very impressive looking scenes in it - but I think fear beats it out on just the cinematic gunfights that happen every 5 minutes :)

OP
D

Dan Derrig

Rattle said:
I think its sweet, better than doom3, not as good as FEAR but not by much. Beats the crap out of HL2 though and looks sweet... fun too
Yay I just beat it!
Anyone else notice how cheap the background and sky are? They could have used something like a skybox. That would have really made it look sweet.

The AI in HL2 and FEAR really beat the AI in here - these Strogg just come straight at you 3/4 of the time. I guess you could explain it by the fact that they are controlled by brain implants but it would be nicer if they were smarter.

On the plus side, I have a GeForce 6600 and I get pretty good framerates - 25-50fps at 1024x768 4xAA and everything else turned up. FEAR really needs a lot of power, and this gets by on less. I could never run these settings in FEAR with good framerates.