• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Question on a 1.33 Tbird

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
OP
OnDborder

OnDborder

Senior Member
Joined
May 6, 2001
Location
HOT 'n Arizona
Is my question too lame or too difficult?
I realize this isn't as exciting as the "hammer"s or the XP's and is old news but it would be nice to have someone that knows better to please answer.
I am looking to upgrade my cpu and I don't see any reason to go to the XP since I don't plan on running WinXP.
 

Yodums

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2001
Location
Ottawa, Canada
Well, the overclocked would run hotter. Its running beyond default bus speeds, also would need more voltage to get there probably, and put out more watts of heat.
 
OP
OnDborder

OnDborder

Senior Member
Joined
May 6, 2001
Location
HOT 'n Arizona
Yodums said:
Well, the overclocked would run hotter. Its running beyond default bus speeds, also would need more voltage to get there probably, and put out more watts of heat.

Thank you for the reply.
Geez, the forum is slow tonight.
How do these 1.33's overclock?
 

brodo

Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2002
Location
saratoga, ca
howdy - well I just added a new Thermalright AX-7 heatsink with a mechatronics 80mm fan to my t-bird 1.33 and I dropped a couple C's. So I added more voltage and OC'd up to 1540 (11x140)!!

I have yet to burn this sucker in - and I believe that the AS2 I put on should give me better cooling results in the next day or two.

Previously I was running a thermaltake Volcano 7, which I liked. however this ax-7 is much large (wider base) and has received incredible reviews. I know that if I was to put a fan with more CFM I could possibly get faster heat disapation and again dropping my cpu down a couple degrees.

My voltage is maxed out at 1.91v and my 3.3v line I have at about 3.5v. So far so good!

later,
brodo
 

NASsoccer

On a string I was held Senior
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Location
i live
OnDborder said:


Thank you for the reply.
Geez, the forum is slow tonight.
How do these 1.33's overclock?

back when i had a 1.33 i broke the 1.7 barrier. But that was too long ago and i can't remember the setting:rolleyes: But, long story short, they seem to be great o/c's:)
 

The Coolest

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
U don't have to have WinXP to take advantage of the SSE instructions that were added to it, if u'r really desperate and want to upgrade I would wait for the T-Breds to come out. and buy one of those
 
OP
OnDborder

OnDborder

Senior Member
Joined
May 6, 2001
Location
HOT 'n Arizona
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by OnDborder

http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=72141&perpage=20&pagenumber=2

"Ok, so now for my "bonehead" question...
If you aren't running WinXP then you aren't getting the full potential out of the XP cpu? "
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



"Sad but true....this I'm sure explains why my xp is parked in the bedroom. I may however put it in and give the xp1600 another go when the pelt finally gets here. Might be kind of fun to see what a 226 will do to a xp1600. donny was getting 1.7Ghz on his with an 80 watt and could not push it any harder as it overwhelmed the pelt."



I thought, in order to get the full potential out of the XP you have to run WinXP.
I plan on using w2k and 98se for a while and really haven't any plans on WinXP so I was interested in the older cpu's.

Which one is the better, 1.33 or 1.4?