• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

question on smoothing out heasink

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

angrysquirrel

Registered
Hello,
I have a used coolermaster cooler master kcu-7025 (copper heatsink with aluminum fins).

It has some scratches on the heatsink and I've heard the term "lapping" used when it comes to smoothing out a heatsink.

What do you guys use buff out the scratches on the copper to make the connection even with the CPU? Would you use sandpaper? What grain would you use? I was thnking of using a block in conjunction to make sure the sanding is uniform. How about a steel wool pad? Thanks for your help!

Steel wool is out. Use 600 grit on a piece of glass or as Hoot has stated (works too - I should have thought of it) the formica counter top in the kitchen. Use the sandpaper wet and rinse it often. You are looking for a uniform FLAT surface and thus steel wool is a no, no. Sand paper at 600 grit is available at walmart and most automotive parts stores. Check in the paint section. Hardware stores usually do not have it this fine as much of theirs is for finishing wood.

thanks silver!

That has got to be the FASTEST response I have ever gotten on a newsgroup! You guys are great! I'm gonna head down to wallmart tomorrow and see what they have for sandpaper!

Don't JUST use 600.

I used 400 for the first sanding just to flatten it out, then 600 to smooth it, the 1500 to really smooth it.

If you really want a mirror do 400, then 600, 800, 1000, 1500, then polish or buff it. I'm not a lunatic so I can deal with a super smooth yet not quite a mirror heatsink. As long as I can't feel a thing when running my fingers across it and it's pretty reflective I'm set.

--Illah