• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Quick Review of *Decent* Upgrade - Thanks!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zadok

Registered
Hey guys, I'm a vet of TechIMO. Had a lot of posts and ranking over there, but it's toast now. Been thinking of this change for a while anyway!

So here's an upgrade. Just wanted opinions. This is going to be a do it all upgrade -- Needs to run much of Adobe Creative, like P-Shop and AI w/o hiccups light video rendering. And some reasonable gaming.

Only planning on modest OCing, if I need to do any at all...

Current:

- Intel SSD
- Corsair PSU 650 watts

New upgrade goodies (All NewEgg):

- Intel Core i5-8600K Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.6 GHz (4.3 GHz Turbo) LGA 1151 (300 Series) 95W BX80684I58600K Desktop Processor Intel UHD Graphics 630
$239.99

-ARCTIC Freezer 7 Pro Rev. 2, CPU Cooler - Intel & AMD, Multi-Directional Mount, 92mm PWM Fan
$21.66

-G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2400 (PC4 19200) Intel Z170 Platform / Intel X99 Platform Desktop Memory Model F4-2400C15D-16GVB

- GIGABYTE Z370XP SLI (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 (300 Series) Intel Z370 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard Smart Fan 5, Dual M.2, Amp-Up Audio, USB 3.1, Multi-Graphics Support

Undecided:

New GPU card - just not sure yet...

Thanks guys!

:welcome:

6-core CPU? That's a lot of cores. Do you have a specific need for that many cores or what was the thought process to select that one?
I would prefer the Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO as a cooler if it were me. The heat pipes contact directly to the CPU for better cooling IMHO.
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod...r_master_hyper_212_evo-_-35-103-099-_-Product
I have several kits of G.SKILL and I like them a lot.