• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

R9 Fury X without AIO??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SwartHack

Babysitter for OCF Lounge Day Care, Still a bad-as
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Location
Planet Earth
this is kinda a cross over question between gCards and cooling...
Since I am talking mostly about cooling a specific gCard I decided to post here.
My apologies for any ethical missteps....

So I have been slumming around cyberspace looking at AMD R9 fury x gCards...
I would like to round out my AMD quiver with the fury x. couple o things though..

So here is a list of R9 Fury X's
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&IsNodeId=1&N=100007709 600566292

This one is the XFX, for example
14-150-742-TS.jpg


-Do I have to buy-one with a stinking AIO???
No specs I have read for any say what connection type is in the card?!?
Just want one watercool ready, like the EVGA 980 TI HydroCopper.
But EVGA does not do AMD??!!
06G-P4-4999-KR_MD_1.jpg



-So what would I put one of these ekwb blocks on?
Would I just have to tear one apart, and just junk/re-purpose the AIO?!
Is there are air-cooled fury X I can convert to the ekw block.
Am I dense? (wait, don't answer that...)
ekfc-r9-fury-x_ca_front2_800.jpg
https://www.ekwb.com/shop/ek-fc-r9-fury-x-acetal


-What is referenced and non-referenced? I kinda get it, but ? Is this just the ones they say are compatible?
Like the one's "EKB references" as compatible?
https://www.ekwb.com/configurator/waterblock/3831109830819


-And finally, with the Pro-Duo coming can we expect a price drop on these rigs?
I'd like one for the current NN#9, but have a 390X, so it could wait...

Insight from anyone's fountain of wisdom is appreciated.


Eskarik Asko
 

ATMINSIDE

Sim Racing Aficionado Co-Owner
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Yes, they all come with an AIO.
Yes, you remove the AIO to put the block on.
Reference is the PCB design. AMD's design is considered reference, anything else isn't reference.
Don't have a clue when we'll see a price drop.
 
OP
SwartHack

SwartHack

Babysitter for OCF Lounge Day Care, Still a bad-as
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Location
Planet Earth
ATMINSIDE... said:
Yes, they all come with an AIO....Yes, you remove the AIO to put the block on...
Well that really blows! !!!

Take a ~$650 rig with AIO + ~$125 for block and you get, kinda too much:(
Don't quite get the marketing angle on the AIO and nobody with a custom loop ready rig.
I'm sure you could hack-rig it some how either by cutting the tubes and using some barb/fitting/QDC and/or
ripping it open and seeing WTF is going inside so see type/coverage of stock wb it's connection type...
But that entails having one to rip open, I'm kinda at a loss on this an about to live without it, for now anyway...:-/

...AMD's design is considered reference, anything else isn't reference.....
err so yeah, huh, that's interesting...
I never thought of it that way...
Its a total paradigm shift for me....

No really, what? AMD markets its own AMD card?
I though all the AMD cards ( and all graphics cards/hardware for that matter) are basically one-off branded/marketed by whoever?
like: EVGA, MSI, XFX, ASUS, etc...
And they all use the AMD chip, but not necessarily the same PCB?
So like in this link I referred to earlier:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...09%20600566292

Those are all referenced rigs I could use the ekb block on?
If so, there are no non-referenced Fury X's?
:confused: Thanks for any clarifications...

Salud
 

ATMINSIDE

Sim Racing Aficionado Co-Owner
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
What I mean by AMD's design is how their engineers designed the main PCB, not that they market their own card.
If you have a "reference" GPU it means the PCB has the same layout as the AMD PCB.

I don't believe there are any non-reference PCB's for the FuryX, but I could be wrong here.
All the ones in your link should be reference.

Seems like to me your best bet would be to find a used FuryX to slap the block on.
 

Joe88

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2013
Well that really blows! !!!

Take a ~$650 rig with AIO + ~$125 for block and you get, kinda too much:(
Don't quite get the marketing angle on the AIO and nobody with a custom loop ready rig.
I'm sure you could hack-rig it some how either by cutting the tubes and using some barb/fitting/QDC and/or
ripping it open and seeing WTF is going inside so see type/coverage of stock wb it's connection type...
But that entails having one to rip open, I'm kinda at a loss on this an about to live without it, for now anyway...:-/

its a custom built AIO from cooler master
waterblock cools both the main chip and the HBM memory chips, there is also a cooper heatpipe which runs along the VRM's
http://www.legitreviews.com/amd-radeon-r9-fury-x-complete-teardown_166851

r9_fury_x_before.jpg
 
Last edited:

ATMINSIDE

Sim Racing Aficionado Co-Owner
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
its a custom built AIO from cooler master
waterblock cools both the main chip and the HBM memory chips, there is also a cooper heatpipe which runs along the VRM's
http://www.legitreviews.com/amd-radeon-r9-fury-x-complete-teardown_166851

r9_fury_x_before.jpg

Can you host the image locally please?
 
OP
SwartHack

SwartHack

Babysitter for OCF Lounge Day Care, Still a bad-as
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Location
Planet Earth
Joe88 said:
...its a custom built AIO from cooler master...
That's a pretty cool review, really shows me what I needed to know...
That the connections are not standard by any means...
fury-x-cooler2.jpg

What gives?!?!
Looking at all the other brands, it seems they are all the same...
With those bogus looking shrink wrapped nipple/barb connections.
The unit looks decent, but why wouldn't they use some NPT or G fittings?
A NPT 1/8 would work perfect.

The review states said:
AMD is using the ribbed hard plastic line that has anti-kink properties, so it is somewhat flexible and shouldn’t kink up when routed in your system
Ribbed for her pleasure!
Looks pretty sub-standard compared to the stuff I am using. No thickness.
What is the ID/OD?

ATMINSIDE said:
...find a used FuryX to slap the block on....
yeah, I'll look around maybe. My stoke on this fading.
That ekwb went to the effort to make a full cover setup for this card begs the question...
What is the matter with the cooler master set-up??? Besides the AIO...

I dont want to drop $600+ on something I end up having to hackineer.
I'd rather put the funds toward another Z170 set-up for TheBianch...
hmm....

Prost
 

ATMINSIDE

Sim Racing Aficionado Co-Owner
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
What's the matter with it? You can't integrate it into a custom loop and you can't expand it to have more than a single 120mm radiator.
 

GTXJackBauer

Water Cooling Senior Member, #TEAMH20HNO
Joined
May 22, 2011
Location
USA
OP, you haven't really explained what you truly want. No idea what your system specs would be and what you're aiming for. If you want water with no headaches and maintenance free, stick with AIOs.

Also, keep an eye on the new GTX 1080 / 1070 coming out in the next couple of weeks.
 
OP
SwartHack

SwartHack

Babysitter for OCF Lounge Day Care, Still a bad-as
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Location
Planet Earth
GTXJackBauer said:
you haven't really explained what you truly want.

...well, err, sorry about that...

So yeah, in the simplest terms I want it custom-loop ready, so I can use it with this:
IMG_1654.JPG
IMG_1682.JPG

"The Bianch"
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/...-TheBianch-quot-Reader-s-Digest-Bench-Project

That's one of my two GTX980 TI HydroCopper's with G7 Z170x. Cooling is a 360 Predator.
That set-up is actually going into FatherTime:
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php/763038-Codename-XmasList-project
with the second GTX980 TI.

I then will put my Maximus VII Hero back on "The Bianch".
And with the 360 Predator set-up I basically want to be able to switch out gCards easily.
And I'd like the Fury X to top off my AMD gCard quiver, as I obviously have GTX covered, for now...

So, that's what I want.:D

Cheers