• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

radeon 8500 64mb or 128mb?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Theman7747

Registered
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
i'm lookin at gettin a video card for my dad, and he wants to spend around $100....so i checked on pricewatch and it looks like i can get a build by ati radeon 8500 64 mb for around there, and the 128mb version for a little bit more. I looked on tom's hardware, the test that the did a whole bunch of different cards, and it turned out for them that the 128 was a slight bit slower than the 64. This doesn't really make any sense to me, but the article was a few months back. In theory a 128mb card should be faster than a 64mb version............so which one should i get?
 

Stalka

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2002
Location
Phx, AZ
the 64mb verisons are a little bit faster... if money is an issue then get a 8500LE 128mb(250/250) and overclock it to a 8500(275/275)... thats MO
 

Slayn

Member
Joined
May 12, 2001
Location
Huntington Beach
I bought a Radeon 8500LE 128MB from CompUSA for $99 and It overclocks to 300/300 easily, I didnt do any mods or even replace the hsf.
 

thestramel

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2001
Location
Somewhere in Colorado
If you can get a 128mb version with 3.3ns RAM. I have one a 128mb 3.6ns version. It overclocks very well, especially with a Crystal Orb and RAM sinks. Like Slayn mentioned, you can overclock it without any mods and at least get to 275/275.
 

Stalka

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2002
Location
Phx, AZ
yea 275/275 will be no problem with the ati radeon 8500le 128mb, thats what i would do they are really cheap too!
 

Cisco Kid

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2001
thestramel said:
If you can get a 128mb version with 3.3ns RAM. I have one a 128mb 3.6ns version. It overclocks very well, especially with a Crystal Orb and RAM sinks. Like Slayn mentioned, you can overclock it without any mods and at least get to 275/275.

the only 8500 1228 ddr cards that have 3.3 ns are the regulare 128 DDR 8500 clocked at 275/275 none of the 8500LE cards come with 3.3 ns they all come with 3.6 ns ram if built by ATI.

Cisco kid
 

advanR

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2002
cisco, my "bulk" LE from newegg has 3.3ns memory. its a 64mb card clocked at 250/275.
 

Cisco Kid

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2001
advanR said:
cisco, my "bulk" LE from newegg has 3.3ns memory. its a 64mb card clocked at 250/275.

read what I said in the last few words of my post and thats i"if built by ATI" some 3rd party cards may offer 3.3 but not ATI built 128 LE cards. BTW how does your 3.3 overclock??

cisco kid
 

advanR

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2002
it is built by ati. i dont know where newegg got them but everyone that ordered the same card got 3.3ns hynix memory. the card was clocked 250/275 stock. Now, mine can hit 28*/324 without any additional cooling or voltage mod. I know this card needs more voltage because i have read it has less voltage than retail cards. I just ordered the cooljag hsf and will install it soon. I guess ill tell you how the gpu fairs after that.
 

funnyperson1

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2001
Cisco Kid said:


read what I said in the last few words of my post and thats i"if built by ATI" some 3rd party cards may offer 3.3 but not ATI built 128 LE cards. BTW how does your 3.3 overclock??

cisco kid

i have the same card....it hits 315 with no sweat, at 317 it start artifacting