• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Radeon Overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Oni

Oni-ni-Kanab;, Ninja Hippo eater Moderator
Joined
Apr 5, 2001
Location
St. Catharines, Ontario Canada
I have a few questions about Radeon Overclocking. Pretty much just how to go about doing it. I've heard strange things about this card not liking to be overclocked too terribly high. Are there any programs that I can download to help me tweak my Radeon? I've already tried RadeonTweaker and Raid-on Tweaker, are there any others? Thx! :)
 

Primal

Registered
Joined
Mar 27, 2001
Oni, go here man. You will find all the info you need. The site below is full of great info. People know a lot about Radeons in this site.


Enjoy.
 

YahooDave

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2001
If you go with "PowerStrip" find version 3 Beta. It will allow you to clock the GPU and the memory at different speeds. I just clocked my card at 225GPU/218memory. I couldn't keep it there though as it was not very stable. I can keep it at 210/210 though.
 

e_storm

Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2001
Location
Chicago, IL
YahooDave (Apr 18, 2001 12:43 a.m.):
If you go with "PowerStrip" find version 3 Beta. It will allow you to clock the GPU and the memory at different speeds. I just clocked my card at 225GPU/218memory. I couldn't keep it there though as it was not very stable. I can keep it at 210/210 though.

what do you do about cooling it? Just the stock HS/fan or do you put something else on?
 

OpenFriday

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2001
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
Dave must have the retail version with the 5.5NS ram as my 6ns ram tops out at about 195/195. For cooling i am using a 50mm fan and i made some cool ramsinks. I took a pic just gotta get film developed and scanner set up.
 

YahooDave

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2001
If you go with "PowerStrip" find version 3 Beta. It will allow you to clock the GPU and the memory at different speeds. I just clocked my card at 225GPU/218memory. I couldn't keep it there though as it was not very stable. I can keep it at 210/210 though.

what do you do about cooling it? Just the stock HS/fan or do you put something else on?
_________________________________________

I replaced the stock HSF with a Blue Orb and then added some ram sinks. I know the Blue Orb works well but I don't think I get much (mhz) out of the ram sinks. But what they do is remove a lot of the heat from them which I think is always good.
 

YahooDave

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2001
OpenFriday (Apr 18, 2001 03:30 p.m.):
Dave must have the retail version with the 5.5NS ram as my 6ns ram tops out at about 195/195. For cooling i am using a 50mm fan and i made some cool ramsinks. I took a pic just gotta get film developed and scanner set up.

_________________________________________

Yea, I have the retail version. Looks like Oni does also.
 

Fink

Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
I have the retail Radeon too and it will go up to 210/210. I replaced the stock HSF with an older, lapped 486 cooler and a 50 mm fan. It didn't make too much of a difference in overclockability, the radeon doesn't seem to run as hot as either the GeForce256 or Voodoo3's that I ran previously.
 
OP
Oni

Oni

Oni-ni-Kanab;, Ninja Hippo eater Moderator
Joined
Apr 5, 2001
Location
St. Catharines, Ontario Canada
I just use the stock hsf, and I'm not sure what speed my ram is on the chip. I can actually get it to about 214/214 stable, but I havn't really tested that extensively.
 

Kenshin

Registered
Joined
Dec 29, 2000
Well, I was able to use RadeonTweaker, got my core up to 250Mhz and Ram to 210, haven't tested it at that speed. Did a stupid thing. I had RadeonTweaker startup with the settings and set the core to 300Mhz. hehe, instant crash so evertime I restarted the system would crash. Had to restart in safe mode to uninstall radeontweaker and delete the directory. This is for a 64MB Vivo by the way.