• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

radian 64 and the gforce2 need opinions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

phantom punisher

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2001
Location
fort drum NY
im thinking of picking up the radeon ddr 64 card. im under the impression that it has features that will be used on games in the future and that some of them are comperable to the gforce3. i understand that the frame rates are much better on gforce2 but is that enough to edge out the advanced features and vidiocapture on the radeon that i can buy for 180 this afternoon? i like to be a competitive gamer and also play many movies. up till now ive been using a vodoo3000 agp. i dont know that much about vidio cards but i know my mb can sopport 4x agp. thank you
 
OP
phantom punisher

phantom punisher

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2001
Location
fort drum NY
yup i di did it. i just bumped my own post. but its 3:00 and im thinking of buying the radion this afternoon as i have the day off. any thoughts would be apreshiated
 

[OC]_SR20DE

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2000
Location
Ummm..
Hi,
If you play games like Q3A or UT, the ATI Radeon 64 DDR will shine a little at 32bit color in speed over a regular GF2 GTS 32mb but I dont think it will be even be able to beat GF2 Pro in any color and settings. If you play a lot of games in 32bit color, Radeon 64DDR would be great for you. :) However if you try to compete with those guys with GTS series in the LAN party/ Online Q3A or UT playing in 16bit color, you may struggle a little. but Im no such player so it isn't important for me..
I dont know about Radeon 64DDR having features and competable for the future games that GF3 can do. That's way off. If you'd like, try looking in some of the GF3 running some demo in action such as X-isle. GF3 owners say it's....unbelievable...

But yes.. ATI Radeon is excellent in 2D apps image quality. They are the best.. still better than the GF3. So if you're into 2D, photo editing, image capturing, DVD, etc, Radeon would be perfect. If you will be doing more of gaming, then I'd say try the GF2 series (Not MX) if you're limited with the budget. good luck ; )
 
OP
phantom punisher

phantom punisher

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2001
Location
fort drum NY
thanks i think im going to go for it. im getting it from circuit city so if it isnt what i expect i can always return it( they are exellent about that). of course my eyes will probely pop out of my head after being so used to this v3000
 

harderclock

Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2001
Location
montreal
i have tried benchmarking my radeon 64meg ddr with some benchmarking utillity specifically designed for the gforce 3. i forget the program. i found it at some nvidia site.the guy who designed the program said it probably wont work good or not at all with any other card other than the gforce 3 but the radeon had no problems and even did pretty good my radeon runs all my driving games fantastic at high resolutions with the highest graphic settings in all the games and my dvd's on my 22 inch monitor play and look better than i have ever seen anywhere else in my life
 

Vovan

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2001
Location
Germany
Radeon chip runs at too low speed(183 Mhz) compared to GTS g-pros.
Although I own a RADEON 64DDR I still dream about Ultra... or GF3
If ATi makes it best and releases RADEON 2 ... I will look then in to the eyes of my 2 friends that own GTS!!! 350 MHz Core, Synchro. It smells like a burning rubber! Just imagine a HeatSink for this!



P/S
Buy RADEON and get RadeonTweaker at Rage3d.com
... yes, and do not forget to upgrade drivers at least one time a halfyear.


PP/S
Yes, If you have something like VIA. - get a driver pack ( 4 in 1).
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2001
If you are buying a Radeon you might get lucky. There have been rumors that ATI was going to be shipping Radeon cards with higher clock settings than 183mhz. (In plain Radeon Box, same price) I went out and bought a Radeon 64 DDR 3 or 4 days ago and it was clocked at 198mhz straight out of the box. I've run it at 210mhz but it outruns my CPU at 198 so I don't want to put the pedal to the metal for nothing. :) Could buy one and if it's a 183mhz version take it back and try a diff store :)

Duron [email protected]
KT7A
ATI Radeon 64 DDR
 

Nagorak

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Vovan (Jun 17, 2001 11:50 a.m.):
Radeon chip runs at too low speed(183 Mhz) compared to GTS g-pros.
Although I own a RADEON 64DDR I still dream about Ultra... or GF3
If ATi makes it best and releases RADEON 2 ... I will look then in to the eyes of my 2 friends that own GTS!!! 350 MHz Core, Synchro. It smells like a burning rubber! Just imagine a HeatSink for this!

This is Intel thinking. Hey, my Athlon 1400 MHz is slower than a P4 1700...strange how it runs a lot faster. Clock speed is just a marketing tool.

Yes, go with the Radeon 64. Unless you feel like spending twice as much money for something that's not really any better.
 

Vovan

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2001
Location
Germany
Nagorak (Jun 18, 2001 03:50 a.m.):
Vovan (Jun 17, 2001 11:50 a.m.):
Radeon chip runs at too low speed(183 Mhz) compared to GTS g-pros.
Although I own a RADEON 64DDR I still dream about Ultra... or GF3
If ATi makes it best and releases RADEON 2 ... I will look then in to the eyes of my 2 friends that own GTS!!! 350 MHz Core, Synchro. It smells like a burning rubber! Just imagine a HeatSink for this!


This is Intel thinking. Hey, my Athlon 1400 MHz is slower than a P4 1700...strange how it runs a lot faster. Clock speed is just a marketing tool.

Yes, go with the Radeon 64. Unless you feel like spending twice as much money for something that's not really any better.


Pure logic: 2pipelines*183 are "<" than 4pipelines at even 166!


And look at mine sign if you think I an Intel guy ;-) !
 

Blue Jester_2112

Member
Joined
May 11, 2001
Radeon is da-bomb,...but then again so is a Geforce.
Get the Radeon, it will not dissapoint. The Geforce is all muscle and is fster but it doesn't matter. I have a radon 32 and a friend of mine has a gforce 2 gts. running 3d mark 2k his scores are better, but when we run games on both our systems there is no real difference. The human eye needs at least 24 fps to recreate fluid motion. More than that can add to the fliudity but after you reach a certain point it doesn't matter. If you're getting 75 fps from a geforce and 60 from a radeon they are going to look smooth as silk. the only difference you might notice is that the colors on the Radeon are a little brighter and a little more rich. Also, as was stated above, the 2d quality is unmatched.
 
OP
phantom punisher

phantom punisher

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2001
Location
fort drum NY
thahks guys for the responces. i did end up buying it and i like it as you would imagine upgrading from voodoo 3000. just a seat of the pants reaction to the new card was that i though someone had cleaned the dust off my screen for a second because the imagie was that much sharper! im gonna post another question about it now
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2001
Phantom, can you check what your Radeon came clocked at? <any of the tweak utilities for the radeon will let you check> I'm curious about my card's 198mhz factory clock settings.

Thanks
 
OP
phantom punisher

phantom punisher

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2001
Location
fort drum NY
yup its a183/183 . how is your card overclocking? thats neat that your came from the factory faster. i wonder if its anew chip or there trusting there old one more. or maybe they got some better thermal compond on the bottom so they fell comfortable with the higher clock. seriously mine was bad. ive seen second graders take more care in gluing things.
 

harderclock

Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2001
Location
montreal
here is the 200 mghz radeon but why would i want to change my card that can run as high as 210 mghz.next year radeon will release a 350 mghz i think ill wait until then.